MONETARY ENTITLEMENT

IN GENERAL

This chapter deals with the monetary requirements of state Ul laws, including work history, benefit amounts,
and the length of time during which a worker may receive UL

Although the states have developed many different ways to determine monetary entitlement to UI, there are
also many similarities. This chapter discusses the following:

. The wages and employment needed in a “base period” to qualify.

. The period during which UI may be collected, commonly called the “benefit year.”
. The amount payable for a week of total or partial unemployment.

. Dependents allowances.

. Waiting periods.

. The maximum amount of regular UI which a worker may receive in a benefit year.

While most workers are employed in the state that they live in, many workers regularly commute to a different
state to work, work in more than one state, or move to a different state to look for new work when they become
unemployed. The law of the state under which the worker claims UI benefits applies as it would for any other worker.
Determinations on eligibility, disqualifications, and the amount and duration of benefits are made by the state in which
the wages were paid. However, the process by which these workers apply for Ul benefits may vary. (For example, the
Interstate Benefit Payment Plan provides a method of filing for Ul benefits in the state in which a worker has
qualifying wages even though the worker is not physically present in that state.)

Although this chapter analyzes monetary factors separately, the relationship between these factors is complex.
In comparing state laws, consideration often needs to be given to these relationships.

BASE PERIOD AND BENEFIT YEAR

As stated above, a worker's benefit rights are determined using wages and employment during a period of time
called the base period. Benefits may be paid during a period of time called the benefit year. Workers who exhaust
their benefits before the end of a benefit year must wait until a new benefit year is established before they can again
draw benefits.

BENEFIT YEARS—The benefit year is a 1-year or 52-week period during which a worker may receive benefits
based on a previous period of employment. In all states, the beginning date of the benefit year depends on when a
worker first files a “valid claim,” meaning the worker meets minimal wage and employment requirements. In most
states, the benefit year begins with the week in which the valid claim is filed. Exceptions are:
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TABLE 3-1: WHEN BENEFIT YEAR BEGINS - OTHER THAN THE WEEK A FIRST CLAIM IS FILED

AR Benefit year begins with the first day of the quarter in which a claim is first filed. As a result, the benefit “year” ranges from
40 to 52 weeks.
NY Benefit year consists of 53 weeks beginning with the effective date of a valid claim.

BASE PERIODS—The base period is the time period during which wages earned and/or hours/weeks worked are
examined to determine a worker’s monetary entitlement to UL. Almost all states use the first 4 of the last 5 completed
calendar quarters preceding the filing of the claim as their base period. (Although Nebraska has no law provisions on
this matter, its regulations establish its base period as the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters).
Massachusetts uses the four completed calendar quarters preceding the first day of the benefit year.

Because base period employment and/or earnings are an imperfect proxy for labor market attachment, there are
instances when workers with labor market attachment are ineligible for Ul benefits. To address this, some states
developed expanded definitions of the base period.

Alternative Base Periods (ABP)—A base period consisting of the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters
results in a lag of up to 6 months between the end of the base period and the date a worker becomes unemployed/files a
claim. As a result, the worker’s most recent work history is not used when making an eligibility determination. As a
result, several states use an ABP for workers failing to qualify under the regular base period. For example, if the
worker fails to qualify using wages and employment in the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters, then the
state will use wages and employment in the last 4 completed calendar quarters.

Extended Base Periods (EBP)—Several states allow workers who have no wages in the current base period to use
older wages and employment under certain conditions. These conditions typically involve illness or injury. For
example, a worker who was injured on the job and who has collected workers’ compensation benefits may use wages
and employment preceding the date of the worker’s injury to establish eligibility. (Note that some state laws may
describe these base periods as “alternative” base periods.)

The following table outlines the options in addition to the standard base period that states use.

TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS

State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP

AK EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if claimant was NV EBP: Last 4 quarters preceding BY if 1 quarter has been used in
incapable of working during the greater part of a a previous determination, extend the BY up to 1 week if there
quarter. would otherwise be overlapping of the same quarter in 2

consecutive BPs.

AZ EBP: Last 4 completed quarters following previous BP | NH ABP: Last 4 completed quarters.
when new BY overlaps preceding BY. Also, first 4 of
last 5 completed quarters preceding the week a
compensable industrial injury began if not qualified
under normal base period, if claim is filed within 2
years of beginning of disability.

CT _ABP: Last 4 completed quarters. 1/ | NJ ABP: BP may be one of two alternatives: (1) last 4 completed
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters preceding sickness or quarters or (2) last 3 completed quarters, plus any weeks of work
disability. 1/ in quarter in which claim is filed.

DC Last 4 completed quarters. NM ABP: Last 4 completed quarters.

GA ABP: Last 4 completed quarters. NY ABP: Last 4 completed quarters.
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TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS

State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP

HI ABP: Last 4 completed quarters. NC EBP: Up to 4 quarters, if worker has insufficient wages to

establish a claim because of a job related injury for which the

ID EBP: A worker who experienced a temporary total worker received workers' compensation.
disability may elect a BP of the first 4 of thelast5 | [ "W @p Sae el st yl-Rle ottt
completed quarters preceding the disability if the ABP: Last 4 completed quarters.
worker filed a claim within 3 years of the disability and
no longer than 6 months after the end of the disability.

IL EBP: BP extended up to 1 year if the claimant received | OH ABP: Last 4 completed quarters.
temporary total disability under a workers'
compensation act or occupational diseases act.

IN EBP: Up to 4 quarters preceding the last day the OK 2/ | EBP: 4 quarters prior to regular base period.
worker was able to work. ABP: Last 4 completed quarters. (Not applicable in any

calendar year in which trust fund balance is below a certain level
1A EBP: BP extended 3 or more quarters if the worker PA EBP: Last 4 completed quarters immediately preceding the date
received workers' compensation or weekly indemnity of the injury if the worker was eligible for workers’
insurance benefits for 3 or more quarters. compensation during the worker’s current BP.

KS EBP: Last 4 completed quarters preceding the date of | RI ABP: Last 4 completed quarters.
qualifying injury.

KY EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters, if a worker due to | SD EBP: A worker who received temporary total disability
job-related injury or if a worker who has received payments under a workers' compensation law may use a BP of
workers’ compensation files an Ul claim within 4 the first 4 of the last 5 completed quarters preceding the
weeks after having received workers’ compensation. disability, if a claim is filed within 24 months of the date the

disability was incurred.

ME EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if 1 quarter has been | TX EBP: If an initial claim is filed within 24 months from the date a
used in a previous determination, extend the BY up to 1 worker's illness or injury began or occurred, the BP will be the
week if there would otherwise be overlapping of the first 4 of the last 5 completed quarters preceding the illness or
same quarter in 2 consecutive BPs. injury.

ABP: Last 4 completed quarters.

MA EBP: BP extended to 52 weeks if claimant received VA ABP: Last 4 completed quarters.
compensation for temporary total disability under a
workers’ compensation law for more than 7 weeks in
BP.

ABP: Last 3 quarters, plus any weeks of work in
quarter in which claim is filed. (Worker may also elect
to use this ABP if it results in a 10% or more increase
in WBA.)

MI ABP: Last 4 completed quarters if individual fails to VT ABP: One of two alternatives: (1) last 4 quarters, or, if still
meet qualifying wage requirements. ineligible, (2) last 3 quarters plus any weeks of work in quarter

in which claim is filed.

MN EBP: Up to 4 quarters depending on length of time a WA ABP: Last 4 completed quarters.
worker received compensation for temporary disability
under a workers’ compensation law.

MT EBP: Up to 4 quarters preceding the disability if the WI ABP: Last 4 completed quarters.
claim was filed within 24 months from the date of the
worker's disability.

1/ Provision is active from January 1, 2003 until December 31, 2005.

2/ ABP not in effect in 2005 in OK.

QUALIFYING WAGES OR EMPLOYMENT

All states require a worker to have earned a certain amount of wages or to have worked for a certain period of
time (or both) within the base period to be monetarily eligible to receive any Ul benefits. Most workers qualify for
benefits based on employment and wages in a single state. However, some workers who work in more than one state
will not have sufficient employment and wages in any single state to establish monetary eligibility, or would be eligible
for a small weekly benefit amount. Since 1971, workers with employment and wages in more than one state can elect
to file a claim combining employment and wages earned in all states into a claim filed under a single state’s law. The
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“paying state” for a combined wage claim combines all base period employment and wages earned under its law with
employment and wages transferred from other states to determine the worker’s monetary eligibility under its law. For
example, if the worker has earned wages in Illinois and Indiana, the worker may elect to file a combined wage claim
using Illinois’ law if the claim is filed in Illinois. Because of the potential of subsequently establishing more than one
benefit year in more than one state, federal regulations stipulate that employment and wages transferred from one state
to a second state for use in establishing a combined wage claim in that second “paying” state cannot be used twice to
establish monetary eligibility. The methods that states use to determine monetary eligibility vary greatly, as described
below.

Multiple of High-Quarter Wages—Under this method, workers must earn a certain dollar amount in the quarter with
the highest earnings of their base period. Workers must also earn total base-period wages that are a multiple—typically
1.5 of the high quarter wages. For example, if a worker earns $5,000 in the high quarter, the worker must earn another
$2,500 in the rest of the base period. States require earnings in more than one quarter to minimize the likelihood that

workers with high earnings in only one quarter receive benefits. Although monetarily eligible, those workers wouldn’t

be substantially attached to the labor market.

Multiple of Weekly Benefit Amount—Under this method, the state first computes the worker’s weekly benefit
amount. The worker must have earned a multiple—often 40—of this amount during the base period. For example, if a
worker’s weekly benefit amount equals $100, then the worker will need base period earnings of 40 times $100—or
$4,000-before any UI would be paid. Most states also require wages in at least two quarters. Some states have
weighted schedules that require varying multiples for varying weekly benefits.

Flat Qualifying Amount—States using this method require a certain dollar amount of total wages to be earned during
the base period. This method is used by most states with an annual-wage requirement for determining the weekly
benefit and by some states with a high-quarter-wage/weekly benefit requirement.

Weeks/Hours of Employment—Under this method, the worker must have worked a certain number of weeks/hours at
a certain weekly/hourly wage.

The following table provides information on the qualifying formulas used by the states and the minimum wages needed
to qualify for Ul in each state.

TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS

Minimum Wages
o Needed To Qualify:
Stat : -
ate Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment 1/ High Base
Quarter $ | Period $
AL 2/ 1-1/2 x HQW in BP and qualifies for at least the minimum WBA. 1,057 2,114
AK Flat amount. 1,000
AZ 1-1/2 x HQW in BP and $1,500 in one quarter; alternative flat-amount requirement: wages in 2 quarters of BP, 1,500 2,250
wages in 1 quarter sufficient to qualify for the maximum WBA and total BP wages equal to or greater than the
taxable wage base ($7,000).
AR 3/ | 27 x WBA in BP. 1,690 1,755
CA Either $1,300 in HQ or $900 in HQ with BP wages equal to 1.25 x HQ. 900 1,125
CO 3/ | 40 x WBA or $2,500 in BP, whichever is greater. 1,084 2,500
(in 2 HQs)

CT2/ | 40x WBA in BP. 390 780
3/
DE 2/ 36 x WBA in BP; if insufficient BP wages, but (36 x WBA) — BP wages < 180, eligible for reduced WBA. 920

(in 2 HQs)
DC 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; $1,300 in 1 quarter, at least $1,950 in 2 quarters. 1,300 1,950
FL 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; minimum of $3,400 in BP. 832 3,400
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TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS

State

Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment 1/

Minimum Wages
Needed To Qualify:

High Base
Quarter $ | Period $
GA 1-1/2 x HQW; alternative: 40 x WBA in BP; wages in 2 quarters of BP. 920 1,600
HI 3/ 26 x WBA in BP. 85 130
ID 1-1/4 x HQW in BP; minimum HQ wages, determined on July 1, must equal 50% of state minimum wage 1,326 1,658
multiplied by 520 hours.
IL Flat amount ($1,600). $440 in quarter outside HQ. 1,160 1,600
IN 1.25 x HQW in BP, and $1,650 in last 2 quarters of BP and $2,750 in BP. 1,000 2,750
1A 1.25 x HQW in BP and HQW 3.5% of the statewide AAW; or 1.5 x HQW in BP. 1,058 1,323
KS3/ | 30x WBA in BP. 1,978 2,670
KY 2/ | 1-1/2x HQW in BP and 8 x WBA in last 2 quarters of BP with $750 outside HQ. 750 2,945
LA 1-1/2 x HQW in BP. 800 1,200
ME 3/ | 2 x AWW in each of 2 different quarters with total wages of 6 x AWW in BP. 1,163 3,487
(in each
of 2 Qs)
MD 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; If doesn’t meet qualifying requirement for WBA computed on HQW but does for next 576 900
lower bracket, eligible for lower WBA, stepdown of 6 brackets; the multiple (1-1/2) is not applied to the
worker's HQW, but the qualifying amount, shown in a schedule, is computed at the upper limit of each wage
bracket (assuming a normal interval at the maximum benefit amount).
MA 30 x WBA in BP; $3,000 minimum. 3,000
MI 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; or BP wages equal to 20 times the state AWW and wages in 2 quarters. 1,976 2,964
MN $1,000 in HQ and $250 outside of HQ. 1,000 1,250
MS 40 x WBA in BP, 26 x minimum WBA in HQ. 780 1,200
MO 1-1/2 x HQW in BP and $1,200 in one quarter; or wages in 2 quarters and BP wages of 1.5 x maximum taxable 1,200 1,800
wage base for that year.
MT 1-1/2 x HQW in BP with total BP wages equal to or greater than 7% of the AAW; or 50% of AAW. 2,632 3,948
(in 2 Qs)
NE $800 in each of 2 quarters. 800 1,600
NV 1-1/2 x HQW in BP or wages in 3 of the 4 quarters in the BP. 400 600
NH $1,400 in each of 2 quarters. 1,400 2,800
NJ 20 weeks at 20 x minimum wage in BP; or 1000 times the state minimum hourly wage. 2,060
NM 3/ | Wages in 2 quarters. 1,482
NY 1-1/2 x HQW in BP, wages in 2 quarters. 1,600 2,400
NC3/ | 6x AWW in BP. 936 3,749
ND 1-1/2 x HQW in BP. 1,864 2,795
OH 20 weeks, with wages averaging 27.5% of the state AWW in BP. 3,720
OK 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; alternative flat-amount requirement $13,800 in BP (100% state taxable wage base). 1,000 1,500

3-5




MONETARY ENTITLEMENT

TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS

State

Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment 1/

Minimum Wages
Needed To Qualify:

High Base
Quarter $ | Period $
OR 2/ | 1-1/2 x HQW in BP, $1000 in BP; alternative flat-amount requirement 500 hours. of employment in the BP. 5,227 7,840
PA 3/ | 16 credit weeks. At least 20% BP wages out of HQ (see table in law). 800 1,320
PR 3/ | 40 x WBA in BP; if fail to meet qualifying requirement for WBA computed on HQW but do meet qualifying 75 280
requirement for next lower bracket, eligible for lower WBA, unlimited stepdown provision. PR has a flat
qualifying requirement for agricultural workers.
RI 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; or 200 x minimum hourly wage in 1 quarter and BP wages at least 400 x the minimum 1,341 2,013
hourly wage.
SC 1-1/2 x HQW in BP (minimum 540 HWQ and 900 BPW). 540 900
SD 728 in HQ, 20 x WBA must be outside high quarter. 728 1,288
TN 40 x WBA in BP. Lesser of 6 x WBA or $900 outside HQ. 780 1,560
TX 3/ | 37x WBA in BP. 1,326 1,998
UT 1-1/2 x HQW in BP or 20 weeks of insured work with 5% of the monetary BP wage requirement (8% of state 1,667 2,500
average fiscal year wages in BP, rounded to the higher $100) in each week.
VT 1.4 HQW and $1,707 in HQ (HQ wages will be adjusted by a percentage increase equal to the percentage 1,707 2,390
increase in the state minimum wage for the prior year).
VA $2,500 in 2 high quarters. 2,500
(in 2 HQs)
VI 1-1/2 x HQW in BP; alternative flat-amount requirement $858 in HQ and 39 x WBA in BP. 858 1,287
WA 3/ | 680 hours in BP. 11,100
wVv Flat amount. 2,200
WI 30 x WBA in BP. 4 x WBA outside HQ. 1,225 1,470
wY 1.4 x HQW in BP. (BPW must be > state average annual wage rounded down to lowest $50.) 1,760 2,200

1/ All states require wages in at least 2 quarters of the base period except CA, CO, DE, and MA.
2/ Additional monetary requirements in state law result in minimum high quarter and/or base period wages that are higher than what the qualifying
formula, alone, would require.
3/ See the state’s weekly benefit amount formula for the calculation of minimum high quarter wage or base period requirements.

QUALIFYING FOR A SECOND BENEFIT YEAR

Since the standard base period established by the states’ laws results in a significant lag between the end of the

base period and the establishment of a benefit year, a worker could conceivably use lag-period wages and employment
to qualify for 2 consecutive benefit years during one long unemployment spell (after benefits are exhausted and the first
benefit year ended). As a result, all states require workers to earn wages after the beginning of the first benefit year. In
many states, the amount a worker must earn is a multiple (from 3 to 10) of the weekly benefit amount. A few states
require a worker to earn wages sufficient to meet the minimum qualifying requirement. In addition, some states specify
that the wages needed to requalify must be earned in covered employment.
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TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED)

State | Subsequent To | Subsequent Other Wages State | Subsequent To | Subsequent Other Wages
Beginning Of To Date Of Must Be Beginning Of | To Date Of Must Be
Preceding Last Valid In Preceding Last Valid In
Benefit Year Claim Insured Benefit Year Claim Insured
Work Work
AL 8 X NE Insured X
work in 4
weeks.
AK 8 NV 3
AZ 8 NH $700 during or X
subsequent to
benefit year.

AR 3 X NJ 4 weeks of

employment.

CA Equivalent NM 5

qualifying
wages as in
preceding
BY.
CcO $2,000 NY 5
CT 5, or $300, X NC 10 X
whichever is
greater.
DE 10 X ND 10 2/ X
DC 10 OH 3x AWW
and covered
employ-
ment in 6
weeks.

FL 3 OK 10 X

GA 10 X OR 6

HI 5 X PA 6

ID 5-1/2; wages PR 3; for at least X

must be in bona one CQ); but
fide work. not < $50.

IL 3 RI 80 x the

minimum
hourly wage.

IN 8 X SC 8 Insured
work;
must be
with a
single
employer

IA $250 X SD 4 X

KS 8 X N 5 X

KY 8; last 2 X 6

quarters of
BP.
LA 6; or 3/13th of X UT 6 X
HQW,
whichever is
lesser.
ME 8 X VT 4
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TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED)

State | Subsequent To | Subsequent Other Wages State | Subsequent To | Subsequent Other Wages
Beginning Of To Date Of Must Be Beginning Of | To Date Of Must Be
Preceding Last Valid In Preceding Last Valid In
Benefit Year Claim Insured Benefit Year Claim Insured
Work Work
MD 10 X VA 30 days work
or 240 hours.
MA 3 VI 6
MI 1/ WA 6
MN 8 X wv 8 X
MS 8 X WI 8 X
MO 5;10x X wY 8
WBA in
non-covered
work.
MT 6; or 3/13th of X 1/ No additional requirement since the lag period, if any, between
HQW, BP and BY is too short to qualify for a second BY.
whichever is 2/ Does not apply to employment by a partnership, corporation, or
lesser. limited liability company if, at the time claim is filed, ownership
interest has been ceded.

WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT

After determining if a worker has sufficient wages and/or employment to qualify for UI benefits, it is necessary
to determine what the weekly benefit amount - the amount payable for a week of total unemployment - will be. As
previously mentioned, Ul is intended to provide partial wage replacement. For this reason, all workers do not receive
the same benefit amount. States replace, on average, 50% of workers’ lost wages up to a certain limit (usually the
average weekly wage in the state). As a result, states tend to replace a higher percentage of low wage workers income
than they do for high wage workers. Several states provide dependents allowances. All states round weekly benefits to
an even dollar amount.

States determine eligibility for Ul on the basis of the calendar week (Sunday through the following Saturday).
In many states, the claim week is adjusted to coincide with the employer's payroll week when a worker files a benefit
claim for partial unemployment.

METHODS OF COMPUTING WEEKLY BENEFITS

As with qualifying wages, states utilize a variety of methods to determine a worker’s weekly benefit amount.

High-Quarter Method—More than half the states determine the weekly benefit amount by using the base period
quarter in which wages were highest. This quarter is viewed as the period most nearly reflecting full-time work for the
worker. By dividing this amount by 13 - the number of weeks in a calendar quarter - the average weekly wage is
calculated. Based on the percentage of the weekly wage the state intends to replace, the weekly wage is divided and the
weekly benefit amount is calculated. For example, a worker who earns $2,600 in the high quarter has an average
weekly wage of $200 a week ($2,600 divided by 13). If the state replaces % of the average weekly earnings, the weekly
benefit amount is $100. To simplify the calculations, states determine the “overall” multiple of the high quarter wages
to determine the weekly benefit amount. In the above example, it would be 1/26 (1/13 times %2). (Note that this type of
formula is used by all states using a multiple of high-quarter wages to establish a benefit year.) 1/26 is the most
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common multiple used by states.

Since even the quarter of highest earnings may include some unemployment, some states use a fraction
generating a higher weekly benefit (e.g., 1/23). Some states use a weighted schedule, which gives a greater proportion
of the high-quarter wages to lower-paid workers than to those earning more. In these states, the maximum fraction
varies from 1/11 to 1/26 while the minimum varies from 1/23 to 1/33.

Multi-Quarter Method—Under this method, the weekly benefit amount is calculated as a multiple of the total or
average quarterly wages paid in more than one quarter. This approach is viewed as being more likely to reflect a
worker’s usual full-time employment pattern since it surveys a greater period of time rather than just focusing on the
quarter with highest earnings.

Annual-Wage Method—Several states compute the weekly benefit as a percentage of annual wages in the base period.
This approach reflects the view that annual wages determine the worker’s standard of living. Most states use a weighted
schedule which gives a larger proportion of annual wages to the lower-paid workers to determine their weekly benefit

amount.

Average-Weekly-Wage Formula—Several states compute the weekly benefit as a percentage of the worker’s average
weekly wages in the base period.

The following table provides information on how states calculate weekly benefit amounts, what the minimum and
maximum weekly benefit amounts are in each state, and the wages required in order to be eligible for the weekly benefit

amounts.
TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS
. . . Minimum wages required
State Method (F)f Caltl:ulatlng & Routndlng Weekly Benefit Amount ($) for maximum WBA ($)
ormdia 0 Minimum 1/ | Maximum 1/ | High quarter Base period
AL MQ Higher $ 45 220 5,257 10,514 in 2
1/24 of average wages in 2 high quarters. quarters
AK AW Nearest $ | 44 - 68 248-320 26,500
0.9% - 4.4% BP wages (See table in law.)
AZ HQ Nearest$ | 60 240 6,000 9,000
1/25
AR HQ Lower $ 65; computed | 345 8,970 9,315
1/26 annually at
12% of
AWW.
CA HQ Higher $ 40 450 11,675 14,593
1/23-1/26 (If HQ wages < $1,833, see table in law.
Otherwise, 1/26 HQ wages.)
CO HQ/WW Lower $ 25 370 (low 8,017 (low 16,034 in 2
Higher of: formula) formula) quarters (low
(1) 60% of 1/26 of 2 highest consecutive quarters, formula)
capped by 50% of average weekly earnings (low 407 (high Not applicable
formula); or formula) (high formula) | 42,328
(2) 50% of 1/52 BP earnings, capped by 55% of (high formula)
avg. weekly earnings (high formula).
CT MQ/HQ Lower $ 15-30 447 - 522 11,622 in 2 17,880
1/26 wages in 2 HQs + DA; for construction quarters
workers, 1/26 of HQ wages + DA.
DE MQ Lower $ 20 330 7,590 15,180 in 2
1/46 of wages earned in highest 2 quarters. quarters
DC HQ Lower $ 50 359 9,334 14,001
1/26.
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Minimum wages required

State Method 'C:)f CaI(I:uIating & Rou:ding Weekly Benefit Amount ($) for maximum WBA ($)

ormuia 0 Minimum 1/ | Maximum 1/ | High quarter Base period

FL HQ Lower $ 32 275 7,150 10,725
1/26

GA MQ Lower $ 40 300 6,900 12,000
1/46 wages in 2 HQs; computed as 1/23 of HQ (alternative (alternative
wages when alternative qualifying wages are used. qualification) qualification)

HI HQ Higher $ 5 436 9,156 11,336
1/21

ID HQ Lower $ 51 325 8,450 10,563
1/26

IL MQ Higher $ 51-57 336 - 456 9074 18,147 in 2
48% of the claimant's wages in highest 2 quarters quarters
divided by 26 +DA.

IN HQ Lower $ 50 369 8,733 10,916
5% of the first $2,000 in HQ wage credits and 4 %
of the remaining HQ wage credits.

TIA HQ Lower $ 46 - 56 310 - 381 7,130 8,913
1/19 (4 or more dependents) - 1/23 (no dependents)

KS HQ Lower $ 89; computed | 359 7978 10,770
4.25% annually at

25% of
maximum
WBA.

KY AW Nearest$ | 39 365 18,582 27,872
1.3078% BP wages

LA MQ Lower $ 10 258; 17,200 25,800
1/25 of the average wages in 4 quarters of BP. computed

annually at 66
2/3% of state-
wide AWW.

ME MQ Lower $ 52-78 302 -453 6,644 13,288 in 2
1/22 average 2 HQ wages + DA. (see table in law) quarters

MD HQ Higher $ 25-65 310; same 7,416 11,160
1/24 + DA. with or

without
dependents.

MA MQ Lower $ 29-43 528 -778 6,864 13,728 in 2
50% of 1/26 2 HQ wages up to 57.5% state AWW quarters
(1/13 HQ if wages only in 2 Qs) + DA.

MI HQ Lower $ 81-111 362 8,830 13,244
4.1% + DA

MN HQ/WW Lower $ 38 493 12,818 13,068
The higher of 50% of 1/52 BP wages up to 66-2/3%
of the state AWW, or 50% of 1/13 HQ up to 45%
of the state’s AWW.

MS HQ Lower $ 30 210 5,460 8,400
1/26

MO HQ Lower $ 48 250 6,250 9,375
4.0%

MT AW/MQ Lower $ 75; computed | 335 17,632 in 2
1.0% BP wages or 1.9% of wages in highest 2 annually at quarters.
quarters. 15% of

AWW.

NE HQ Lower $ 30 288 7,488 8,288
1/26

NV HQ Lower $ 16 329 8,225 12,338
1/25

NH AW Nearest § | 32 372 9125 36,500

1.0% - 1.1%BP wages (see table in law)
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Minimum wages required

State Method g;%&iglating & Rou;:)ding Weekly Benefit Amount ($) for maximum WBA ($)
Minimum 1/ | Maximum 1/ | High quarter Base period
NJ ww Lower $ 61-70 503; same 16,767
60% (base weeks’ wages/ number of base weeks) + with or
DA. without
dependents.
NM HQ Lower $ 57-73; 300 - 350 7,800
1/26 + DA computed
annually at
10% of
AWW.
NY HQ Nearest$ | 40 405 10,518 15,777
1/26; 1/25 if HQW less than $3,575.
NC HQ Lower $ 36 426 11,076 16,614
1/26
ND MQ Lower $ 43 324 14,040 21,060
1/65 of (total wages earned in highest 2 quarters
and % of total wages in third highest quarter).
OH WW Lower $ 93 331 - 446 13,240
50% (wages in qualified weeks in BP / number of
such weeks) + DA.
OK HQ Lower $ 16 292 6,716 10,074
1/23
OR AW Lower $ 98; computed | 419 22,347 33,520
1.25% BP wages annually at
15% of
AWW.
PA HQ Lower $ 35-43 478 - 486 11,882 19,033
1/23 - 1/25 + DA (see table in law)
PR HQ Lower $ 7 133 3,442 5,320
1/11 - 1/26
RI HQ Lower $ 62-112 462 - 577 10,000 15,000
4.62% + DA
SC HQ Lower $ 20 292 7,592 11,388
1/26
SD HQ Lower $ 28 256 6,656 11,776
1/26
™ MQ Lower $ 30 275 7,150 14,300
3/ 1/26 of average of 2 HQs (see table in law)
TX HQ Higher $ 54 336 8,376 12,432
1/25
UT HQ Lower $ 24 371 9,646 14,439
1/26
VT MQ Nearest $ 42 371 11,190 16,673 in 2
Wages in the 2 highest quarters divided by 45. quarters
VA MQ Higher $ 50 326 16,301 in 2
1/50 2 HQs quarters
VI HQ Lower $ 33 387 10,062 15,093
1/26
WA | AW Lower $ 111; 496 49,600
1% BP wages computed
annually at
15% of
AWW.
WV | AW Lower $ 24 $366 36,600
1% of median wages in worker’s wage class. (see
table in law)
WI HQ Lower $ 49; computed | 329 8,225 11,060
4.0% twice yearly;

19% of max.
WBA.
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

. . . Minimum wages required
State Method 'C:)(Ilﬁl]:;\lziglatlng & Rou;:)dlng Weekly Benefit Amount ($) for maximum WBA ($)
Minimum 1/ | Maximum 1/ | High quarter Base period
wY HQ Lower $ 23 316 7,900 25,500
4.0%

KEY: HQ: High Quarter Formula MQ: Multi-Quarter Formula ~AW: Annual Wage Formula WW: Average Weekly Wage Formula

GENERAL NOTE: Since the high quarter and base period wage requirements for the minimum weekly benefit amount are the same as the wage
and employment requirements to qualify for benefits, they are not repeated in this table. (See “Wage and Employment Requirements for Benefits
table.)

£H)

1/ When 2 amounts are given, higher figure includes dependents allowance. Higher figure for minimum WBA includes allowance for 1
dependent child. Higher figure for maximum WBA includes allowances for maximum number of dependents.
2/ These amounts are for the low formula only. High formula does not consider quarterly figures.

AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENTS TO WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

In those states where Ul is intended to replace a specific percent of wages up to a fixed percent of the state’s average
weekly wage, the calculation of benefit entitlement is determined by the state’s average weekly wage. Because wages
increase, states recalculate the average weekly wage periodically to update the benefits schedule and continue to replace
the desired percentage of a worker’s lost wages. The maximum weekly benefit amount is usually more than 50 percent
of the average weekly wage in covered employment within the state during a recent 1-year period. In most states, the
minimum weekly benefit is an amount specified in the law. However, some states’ laws link the minimum weekly
benefit amount with their average weekly wage as well. The following table includes information only for states that
link the maximum weekly benefit amount with their average weekly wage.

TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENT TO BENEFITS AMOUNTS
Method Of Computation
Annually As % Of AWW In Semiannually As % Of % Of State AWW
Covered Employment In: AWW In Covered
Employment In:
SR Preceding 12 12 12 Months All Maximum Minimum | Effective
CY Months | Months Ending 6 Industries Date Of
Ending Ending Months In State New
March 31 | June 30 Before Amounts
Effective
Date
AR X 55 (high formula) 50 (low July 1
formula)
CcO X 55 July 1
CT X 60; based on AWW of production 1** Sunday
and related workers. May not be in Oct.
increased by more than $18 in any
year.
DC X 50 Jan. 1
HI X 70 Jan. 1
ID X 60 1** Sunday
in July
IL X 49.5; for claimants with dependents, Jan. 1
maximum is limited to 66-2/3% of
state's AWW, which is based on
percentage changes from year to
year. Maximum for claimants with
dependents is limited to 65.5% of
state's AWW.
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TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENT TO BENEFITS AMOUNTS

Method Of Computation

Annually As % Of AWW In Semiannually As % Of % Of State AWW
Covered Employment In: AWW In Covered
Employment In:
ST Preceding 12 12 12 Months All Maximum Minimum | Effective
CY Months | Months Ending 6 Industries Date Of
Ending Ending Months In State New
March 31 | June 30 Before Amounts
Effective
Date
1A X 53; for claimants with no 1* Sunday
dependents. For claimants with in July
dependents, ranges from 55 to 65%.
KS X 60 25% of July 1
max WBA
KY X 62; cannot increase in any year when July 1
tax schedule increases from previous
year. Year-to-year increases limited
depending on fund balance.
LA X 66-2/3 Sept. 1
ME X 52 June 1
MA X 57.5 1** Sunday
in Oct.
MN X Higher of 50% of the worker’s August 1
AWW in the BP to a maximum of
66-2/3% of the state AWW,; or 50%
of the worker’s AWW during the
HQ to a maximum of 50% of the
state AWW, or $331, whichever is
higher.
MT X 66.5 15 July 1
NV X 50 July 1
NJ X 56-2/3 Jan. 1
NM X 52.5 10 1** Sunday
in Jan.
NC X 66-2/3 August 1
ND | X 62; 65% of state AWW if trust fund 1* Sunday
reserves on Oct. 1 are equal to or in July
greater than the required amount and
the state's average contribution rate
is below the nationwide average for
the preceding year.
OH X Percentage used is not specified by 1** Sunday
law. in Jan.
OK X The greater of $197 or 60%, 57.7%, July 1
55%, 52.5% or 50% of state AWW
of the second preceding CY,
depending on the condition of the
fund.
OR X 64 15 Week of
July 4
PA X 66-2/3 Jan. 1
PR X 50 July 1
RI X 67 July 1
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TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENT TO BENEFITS AMOUNTS

Method Of Computation

Annually As % Of AWW In Semiannually As % Of % Of State AWW
Covered Employment In: AWW In Covered
Stat Employment In:
ate Preceding 12 12 12 Months All Maximum Minimum | Effective
CY Months | Months Ending 6 Industries Date Of
Ending Ending Months In State New
March 31 | June 30 Before Amounts
Effective
Date
SC X 66-2/3 July 1
SD X 50 July 1
UT X 62 Jan. 1
VT X Percentage not specified by law. 1** Sunday
in July
VI X 50 Jan. 1
WA | X 70 15 1** Sunday
in July
wv X 66-2/3 July 1
wYy |X 55 4 July 1

WAITING PERIOD

Workers who are otherwise eligible for benefits must first serve a waiting period in most states. In most states,
the waiting-period requirement for weeks of partial unemployment is the same as for weeks of total unemployment.
The waiting period is served in or with respect to a particular benefit year. Special provisions may exist for successive
benefit years. (When a worker, after intervening employment, has an additional spell of unemployment that continues
beyond the end of the first benefit year, the worker may not have to serve another waiting week if he is monetarily
eligible for benefits in the second year.)

TABLE 3-7: STATES WITH INITIAL WAITING PERIOD (IN WEEKS)

State Total Partial In New Benefit Year State Total Partial In New
Unemployment Unemployment Unemployment | Unemployment | Benefit Year
AK 1 1 NM 1 1
AZ 1 1 NY 1 2
AR 1 1 NC 1; Waived for 1
major industrial
disasters.
CA 1; Waiting period may be suspended by Not to interrupt ND 1 1

consecutive weeks of
benefits. Waiting-period
must be served if, later in
the new benefit year, the
worker, after obtaining
employment, again
becomes unemployed.
May be served in last
week of old year.

the Governor if compliance would
prevent, hinder or delay the mitigation of
the effects of any state-of-war
emergency or state of emergency.
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TABLE 3-7: STATES WITH INITIAL WAITING PERIOD (IN WEEKS)

State Total Partial In New Benefit Year State Total Partial In New
Unemployment Unemployment Unemployment | Unemployment | Benefit Year

CcO 1 1 OH 1; Waived if 1
unemployed due
to major disaster
declared by the
President.

DC 1 1 OK 1 1

FL 1 1 OR 1 1

HI 1 1 1 PA 1 1

ID 1 1 PR 1 1

IL 1 1 May be served in last RI 1; Waiting period will be suspended

week of old BY. if the unemployment is due to a
natural disaster or state of
emergency.

IN 1 1 SC 1 1

KS 1 1 1 SD 1 1

LA 1 1 TN 1; Becomes compensable after 3
consecutive weeks of compensable
unemployment immediately
following waiting period.

ME 1 1 X 1; Compensable after receipt of
benefits equaling 3 x WBA.

MA 1 1 UT 1; Exempt for one week waiting
period where the worker is in
approved mandatory apprenticeship
related training.

MN 1; Waiting period will not apply if the VA 1; If unemployment caused by
claimant would have been eligible for employer terminating operations,
disaster benefits, but for the claimant’s closing its business or declaring
establishment of a claim. bankruptcy without paying final

wages earned.

MS 1 1 1 VI 1 1

MO 1; Becomes compensable in 2008, but WA 1 1
only when the remaining balance on the
claim is < compensable amount for the
waiting week.

MT 1 1 1 WV 1 1

NE 1 1

TABLE 3-8: STATES WITH NO WAITING PERIODS

Alabama Connecticut Delaware
Georgia Iowa Kentucky
Maryland Michigan Nevada
New Hampshire North Carolina (only for workers Wisconsin

affected by major industrial disaster)
Vermont Wyoming (for claims filed between July

2, 2002 and June 30, 2005)
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BENEFITS FOR PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT

Often, instead of being laid off, workers may have their hours reduced during an economic downturn. Or,
unemployed workers may find short-term work while looking for a permanent, full-time job. These circumstances
characterize partial unemployment. The Ul system is set up to permit benefit receipt by these workers as long as they
meet all eligibility requirements. However, the weekly benefit amount payable differs.

A week of total unemployment is commonly defined as a week in which the worker performs no work and with
respect to which remuneration is not payable. In Puerto Rico, a worker is deemed totally unemployed if earnings from
self-employment are less than 1-1/2 the weekly benefit amount or if no service is performed for a working period of 32
hours or more in a week. In a few states, a worker is considered totally unemployed in a week even though certain small
amounts of wages are earned. In most states, a worker is partially unemployed in a week of less than full time work and
earnings of less than the weekly benefit amount. In some states, a worker is partially unemployed in a week of less than
full-time work when less than the weekly benefit amount plus an allowance is earned, either from odd-job earnings or
from any source as indicated in the table below.

The worker’s Ul payment will generally equal the difference between the weekly benefit amount and earnings.
All states disregard some earnings as an inducement to take short-time work.

When determining monetary entitlement to benefits, the state usually specifies a maximum dollar amount that
can be received—usually equal to a specified number of weeks of benefits for total unemployment multiplied by the
weekly benefit amount for total unemployment. Consequently, a partially unemployed worker may draw benefits for a
greater number of weeks than a totally unemployed worker.

Most state laws provide that the benefit for a week of partial unemployment will be rounded to the nearest or the
lower dollar. For example, in a state with a $30 earnings disregard and rounding to the nearest dollar, a worker with a
$40 weekly benefit amount and earnings of $50.95 would receive a partial benefit of $19.

TABLE 3-9: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT
State Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In | State Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In
Unemployment: Week Of Computing Weekly Unemployment: Week Of Computing Weekly
Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit For Partial Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit For Partial
If Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment If Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment
AL WBA $15 NE WBA 2 WBA; full WBA is paid
if earnings are less than %>
weekly benefit; /2 WBA is
paid if wages are /2 WBA
but less than full WBA.
AK 1-1/3 x WBA + $50 1/4 wages over $50 NV WBA 1/4 wages
AZ WBA $30 NH WBA 30% of WBA
AR WBA +2/5 WBA 40% WBA NJ WBA + greater of $5 or 1/5 1/5 WBA or $5
WBA
CA WBA greater of $25 or 25% of NM WBA 1/5 WBA; excludes
wages payments for jury service.
(0(0) WBA 1/4 WBA NY Benefits are paid at the rate of 1/4 the WBA for each effective
day within a week beginning on Monday. Effective day
defined as 4th and each subsequent day of total unemployment
in a week in which claimant earns not more than $300.
CT 1-1/2 + basic WBA 1/3 wages; includes NC week of less than 3 customary | 10% of AWW in HQ
holiday pay in the scheduled full-time days.
remuneration for
determining partial
benefits.
DE WBA + greater of $10 or 50% | greater of $10 or 30% ND WBA 60% WBA
of WBA WBA
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TABLE 3-9: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT

State Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In | State Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In
Unemployment: Week Of Computing Weekly Unemployment: Week Of Computing Weekly
Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit For Partial Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit For Partial
If Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment If Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment
DC WBA + $20 1/5 wages OH WBA 1/5 WBA
FL WBA 8 x federal hourly OK WBA + $100 $100
minimum wage
GA WBA $50; excludes payments for | OR WBA 1/3 WBA; or 10 x state min.
jury service. wage; excludes wages from
service in the organized
militia for training or
authorized duty from benefit
computation.
HI WBA $50 PA WBA + 40% of WBA Greater of $6 or 40% of
WBA
ID WBA + %, WBA > WBA PR 1-1/2 x WBA; week in which | WBA
wages, or remuneration from
self-employment, are less than
1-1/2 times claimant's WBA or
the claimant performs no
service for a working period of
32 hours or more in a week.
IL WBA > WBA RI1/ | basic WBA 1/5 WBA
IN WBA Greater of $3 or 1/5 WBA | SC WBA 1/4 WBA
from other than base
period ERs.
1A WBA +$15 1/4 WBA SD WBA 1/4 WBA over $25.
KS WBA 25% WBA TN WBA Greater of $50 or 25% of
WBA.
KY 1-1/4 x WBA 1/5 wages TX WBA + greater of $5 or 1/4 greater of $5 or 1/4 WBA
WBA.
LA WBA Lesser of /2 WBA or $50 UT WBA 30% WBA
ME WBA + $5 $25; excludes wages VT WBA + $15 Greater of $40 or 30%
received by members of WBA
the National Guard and
organized labor, including
base pay and allowances or
any amounts received as a
volunteer emergency
medical services worker.
MD Augmented WBA. $90 VA WBA $25
MA WBA 1/3 WBA,; earnings plus VI 1-1/3 x WBA + $15 25% of wages in excess of
WBA may not equal or $15
exceed the worker's AWW.
MI 1-1/2x WBA For each $1 earned, WBA | WA 1-1/3 x WBA + 85 1/4 wages over $5

is reduced by 50 cents.
However, benefits and
earnings cannot exceed 1
1, WBA. Earnings above
2 WBA result in dollar-
for-dollar reduction in
WBA. If the resulting
WBA is zero the weeks of
benefits payable are
reduced by 1 week.
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TABLE 3-9: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT

State Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In | State Definition Of Partial Earnings Disregarded In
Unemployment: Week Of Computing Weekly Unemployment: Week Of Computing Weekly
Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit For Partial Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit For Partial
If Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment If Earnings Are Less Than: Unemployment
MN WBA Greater of $50 or 25% of wv WBA + $61 $60
wages. Excludes up to
$200 in jury pay and wages
earned for services per-
formed in National Guard
and military reserve; and
as a volunteer firefighter or
in ambulance services.
MS WBA $40 WI Any week the worker receives | $30 plus 33% of wages in
any wages. Also, no worker excess of $30. Excludes
may be eligible for partial wages received as a
benefits if the benefit payment | volunteer firefighter or
is less than $5; or if an voluntary medical
employer paid the worker at technician from benefit
least 80% of the BP wages or computation.
the worker worked for the
Employer at least 35 hours in
the week at the same or a
greater rate of pay as the
worker was paid in the HQ
MO WBA + §20 $20; excludes wages from | WY Basic WBA Wages in excess of 50% of
service in the organized WBA
militia for training or
authorized duty from
benefit computation.
MT 2 x WBA % wages over 1/4 WBA

1/ Has special provision for totally unemployed workers who have days of employment between the end of the waiting period and the
beginning of the first compensable week, and also for those who return to work prior to the end of a compensable week, provided they have been
in receipt of benefits for at least 2 successive weeks of total unemployment. For each day of unemployment in such week in which work is
ordinarily performed in the worker's occupation, one-fifth of the weekly benefit is paid, up to four-fifths of the weekly rate.

DEPENDENTS ALLOWANCES

Although wages earned during the base period is the primary factor in determining the size of the payment a

claimant receives each week, some states’ laws provide for a dependents allowance above and beyond the basic benefit
amount payable. The definition of dependent, for UI purposes, varies from state to state as does the allowance granted.
In general, a dependent must be wholly or mainly supported by the worker or living with or receiving regular support

from the worker.

DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT—AII states with dependents allowances include children under a specified age. The
intent is to include all children whom the worker is morally obligated to support. In most of these states, allowances
may be paid on behalf of older children who are unable to work because of physical or mental disability. In some states,
children are not the only dependents recognized - spouses, parents, or siblings are also included in the definition. The
following table outlines, for the states that have dependents allowances, their definition of a dependent.
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TABLE 3-10: DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT

Nonworking Dependent

Number
_ Qlder Parent | Brother | Of Dep- Max. No.
State Dependent Child Under 18 Unless Child Not Spouse 1 or endents Of De-
Otherwise Noted 1/ Able To Sister | Fixed For | pendents
Work 1/ BY
AK Child must be unmarried; must have X 3
received more than half the cost of
support from claimant or be lawfully in
the worker's custody at the time the
worker claims the allowance.
CT 21 if child is fulltime student X X 5
IL X Spouse must be 2
currently ineligible for
benefits in the State
because of insufficient
BP wages.
IA X No dependency X X X 4
allowance paid for any
week in which spouse
earns more than $120 in
gross wages.
ME X No dependency >5
allowance paid for any
week in which spouse is
employed full time and
is contributing to
support of dependents.
MD 16 X 5
MA Child must be unmarried and by X X >5
2/ interpretation; 24 if child is fulltime
student.
MI Must have received more than half the X X Parents over age 65 | X >5
cost of support from claimant for at least or permanently
90 consecutive days or for the duration of disabled for gainful
the parental relationship. employment, brother
or sister under 18,
orphaned or whose
living parents are
dependents.
NJ 19; child must be unmarried; 22 if child is | X X X 3
fulltime student.
NM Child must also be unemancipated. Child
may be in legal custody of claimant
pending adoption. Court requires
claimant to contribute to child’s support
and no one else is receiving benefits for
that child.
OH X May not be claimed as X 3
dependent if average
weekly income is in
excess of 25% of the
claimant's AWW.
PA X X X 2
RI X X 5

interpretation, MA; legal guardian, MA, and RI; full-time student, CT, ME, MI, MA, and NJ. Legal parent, MI.
2/ Only dependents residing within the U.S., its Territories and possessions.
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AMOUNT OF WEEKLY DEPENDENTS ALLOWANCES—As with the definition of dependents, there is much
variation among states concerning the amount of weekly dependents allowance payable. However, there are some
commonalities. For example, the allowance is ordinarily a fixed sum. In addition, all states have a limit on the total
amount of dependents allowance payable in any week - in terms of dollar amount, number of dependents, percentage of
basic benefits, or of high-quarter wages or of average weekly wage. This limitation results in reductions, for some
workers, in the actual allowance per dependent or the maximum number of dependents on whose behalf allowances may
be paid. In almost all states, the number of dependents is fixed for the benefit year when the monetary determination on
the claim is made. Likewise, in virtually all states, only one parent may draw allowances if both are receiving benefits
simultaneously. Workers who are eligible for partial benefits may draw dependents allowances in addition to their basic
benefits in most of the states providing for these allowances. They receive the full allowance for a week of partial
unemployment. Consequently, the allowance for dependents may be greater than the basic benefit for partial
unemployment. Alaska and Connecticut permit the dependents allowances to be adjusted during the benefit year if a
worker acquires additional dependents.

TABLE 3-11: AMOUNT OF WEEKLY DEPENDENTS ALLOWANCES

State Weekly Weekly Maximum Maximum
Allowance Per Dependents Allowances Dependents Allowance For Dependents Allowance For
Dependent Capped At: Minimum Weekly Benefit Maximum Weekly Benefit

AK $24 $72 $72 §72

CT $15 Lesser of WBA and $75. $15 $75

IL $3-$120 $6-$120 $6 $120

1A $2-$29 Schedule $2-$71 $10 $71

ME $10 > WBA $26 $151

MD $8 $40 $40 $0; same maximum WBA with or without

dependents.
MA $25 ¥, WBA $14 $250
MI $6 $30 $30 $0; same maximum WBA with or without
dependents.

NJ $4-$33 7% of WBA for 1* dependent $9 $0; same maximum WBA with or without
and 4% for each of the next two dependents.
dependents.

NM $15 ¥, WBA up to $60. $15 $60

OH $1-$115 Determined by schedule $0 $115
according to the AWW and
dependency class.

PA $5; $3 for one $8 $8 $8

other dependent.
RI The greater of $10 or 5% WBA per dependent, up to | $50 $115
5 dependents.

NOTE: Full dependents allowance given for weeks of partial benefits in all states with the following exceptions: MD - Not more than 26 DA
payments for dep. may be made in any one BY; MI — No, dependents allowance considered a part of WBA; PA - Not more than 26 DA payments
may be made in any one BY. (Workers are partially unemployed if they earn less than the unadjusted weekly benefit amount.)

DURATION OF BENEFITS

When states compute a worker’s monetary eligibility for benefits, in addition to calculating the weekly benefit
amount, they determine the duration of benefits—how long benefits can be collected. The duration is usually measured
as a number of weeks of total unemployment. Maximum weeks of benefits vary from 26 to 30 weeks, most frequently
26 weeks. A few states’ laws establish uniform durations of 26 weeks for all workers who meet the qualifying-wage
requirements, whereas the rest of the states have variable durations. Uniform duration states are not necessarily “more
generous” than the other states because many of these states have comparatively high minimum wage thresholds to
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qualify for all but the lowest benefit levels. Similarly, whether directly or indirectly, all uniform duration states require
employment in more than one quarter for all - or most - workers to qualify for benefits.

In variable duration states, duration is derived. First, the state determines the limit on total benefits receivable in
a benefit year (the maximum entitlement). In most of these states, a worker's benefits are limited to a fraction or percent
of base-period wages if it produces an amount less than the specified multiple (usually 26-30) of the worker's weekly
benefit amount. The rest of the variable duration states - states using an average-weekly-wage method - set maximum
potential benefits as a fraction of weeks worked during the base period. Once the state calculates the maximum
entitlement, it divides that amount by the weekly benefit amount to derive the duration. Some states’ laws specify both
the minimum and maximum duration, in weeks, along with the method of calculating benefit entitlement. Since, in all
of these states, the maximum potential benefit may be used in weeks of total or partial unemployment, workers can

collect benefits longer than their stated duration (until they have collected their maximum entitlement).

have different durations and different weekly benefit amounts. For example, workers whose wages are concentrated

Depending on the distribution of wages in the base period, workers with the same total base period wages can

largely or wholly in the high quarter will have a higher weekly benefit amount but a shorter duration.

In most states with variable duration, workers at all benefit levels are subject to the same minimum and

maximum weeks of duration.

A few states include a limitation on wage credits in computing duration. For example, in Colorado, only wages
up to 26 times the current maximum weekly amount per quarter count. This type of provision tends to reduce weeks of
benefits for workers at the higher benefit levels.

This section deals only with the regular UI program. Extensions are addressed in the following chapter.

The following table describes how each variable duration state calculates the duration of benefits a worker is
eligible to receive, and, for all states, the minimum and maximum potential benefits, duration, and wage credits needed
to qualify for the maximum duration of the maximum weekly benefit amount.

TABLE 3-12: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT & DURATION OF BENEFITS 1/

Minimum Maximum Potential Benefits
Formula for Calculating Benefit Potential F : Duration
: . Wage credits required
SIEE Entitlement Benefits: Amounts ($) 2/ g 9 (Weeks)
Amount ($) = High quarter ($) Base period ($)
AL Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 704 5,720 5,257 17,160 15-26
AK Ratio of annual wages to HQW—from 704 6,448 - 8,320 Annual-wage 26,500 16 - 26
less than 1.50 to 3.5 or more. formula; no required

amount of wages in

HQ.
AZ Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 750 6,240 6,000 18,720 12-26
AR Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 585 8,970 8,970 26,,910 9-26
CA Lesser of 26 x WBA and %2 BPW. 562 11,700 11,675 23,400 14-26
CcO Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 wage credits | 325 10,582 N/A: highest quarter | 42,328 13-26

in BP. does not apply to the

formula that yields

the maximum

potential benefits.
CT N/A: Uniform duration state. 390 11,622 — 13,572 11,622 17,880 26

uniform

DE Lesser of 26 x WBA and 2 BPW. 480 8,580 17,160 24 —26
DC Lesser of 26 x WBA and 50% BPW. 975 9,334 9,334 18,668 19-26
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TABLE 3-12: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT & DURATION OF BENEFITS 1/

Minimum Maximum Potential Benefits
Formula for Calculating Benefit Potential : : Duration
: - Wage credits required
SIELE Entitlement Benefits: Amounts ($) 2/ g &! (Weeks)
Amount ($) = High quarter ($) Base period ($)

FL 25% BPW up to $7150. 850 7,150 7,150 28,600 9-26

GA Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/4 BPW. 400 7,800 6,900 31,200 9-26

HI N/A: Uniform duration state. 130 11,336 9,156 11,336 26

uniform

ID Ratio of BPW to HQW--from 1.25 to 510 8,450 8,450 27,463 10-26
3.25.

IL N/A: Uniform duration state. 1,326 8,736 - 11,856 9,074 18,147 26
(Claimants are eligible for the lesser of 26 uniform
weeks of benefits or their total BP
wages.)

IN Lesser of 26 x WBA and 28% of BP 400 9,594 8,733 34,265 8-26
wage credits; only specified amount of
wages per quarter may be used for
computing duration of benefits: $8,733.

IA Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW.; If 441 8,060 — 9,906 7,130 24,180 9-26
laid off due to employer going out of
business, /2 of wages in BP up to 39
weeks.

KS Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 890 9,334 7,978 28,002 10-26

KY Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 585 9,490 18,980 28,470 15-26

LA Lesser of 26 x WBA and 27% BPW. 210 6,708 16,563 24,844 21 -26

ME Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 728 7,852 -11,778 6644 in each of 2 Qs | 23,556 14 -26

MD N/A: Uniform duration state. 650 8,060; same 7,416 11,160 26

maximum with or uniform
without deps.

MA Lesser of 30 x WBA and 36% BPW. 1080 15,840 - 23,340 11,000 44,000 10-30
(Reduced to 26 x WBA if average local
unemployment rate < 5.1%.)

MI 43% BPW. 1,274 9,412; same $14,593 21,889 14-26

maximum with or
without deps.

MN Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 416 12,818 12,818 38,454 10-26

MS Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 400 5,460 5,460 16,380 13-26

MO Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 600 6,500 6,250 19,500 12-26

MT Ratio of BPW to HQW—from 1.0 to 3.50 | 600 9,380 Annual-wage 33,500 8-283/
or greater (See schedule in law.) formula; no required

amount of wages in
HQ.

NE Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 534 7,488 7,488 22,464 17-26

NV Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 200 8,554 8,225 25,662 12-26

NH N/A: Uniform duration state. 832 9,672 9,125 36,500 26

uniform

NJ Lesser of 26 x WBA and (3% weeks 915 13,078; same 29,343 1-26
worked in BP x WBA). maximum with or

without deps.

NM Lesser of 26 x WBA and 60% BPW. 889 7,800 — 9,100 7,800 13,000 15-26

NY N/A: Uniform duration state. 1,040 10,530 10,518 15,777 26

uniform
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TABLE 3-12: BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT & DURATION OF BENEFITS 1/

Minimum Maximum Potential Benefits
Formula for Calculating Benefit Potential : : Duration
. - Wage credits required
SIELE Entitlement Benefits: Amounts ($) 2/ g &! (Weeks)
Amount ($) = High quarter ($) Base period ($)
NC (BPW / HQW) x 8-2/3. 468 11,076 11,076 33,228 13-26
ND Ratio of BPW to HQW—from 1.5 t0 3.2. | 516 8,424 14,040 44,928 12-26
OH Lesser of 26 x WBA and 20 x WBA+ 1,860 8,606 - 11,596 17,212 in 26 weeks 20-26
WBA for each credit week in excess of
20.
(Credit week = week with wages of at
least 37 X minimum wage.)
OK Lesser of 26 x WBA and 50% BPW. 352 7,592 6,616 15,184 22 -26
OR Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 294 10,894 22,347 33,520 3-26
PA A worker with at least 18 credit weeks is 560 12,428 - 12,636 11,882 19,033 16 —-26
eligible for 26 weeks; with at least 16
credit weeks, 16 weeks. A credit week is
one in which claimant earned at least $50.
PR N/A: Uniform duration state. 182 3,458 3,442 5,320 26
uniform
RI Lesser of 26 x WBA and 36% BPW. 725 12,012 - 15,002 10,000 33,367 826
SC Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 300 7,592 7,592 22,776 15-26
SD Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 429 6,656 6,656 19,968 15-26
TN Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/4 BPW. 390 7,150 7,150 28,600 13-26
X Lesser of 26 x WBA and 27% BPW. 539 8,736 8,376 32,356 9-26
UT 27% BPW. 240 9,646 9,646 35,726 10-26
VT N/A: Uniform duration state. 1,092 9,646 11,910 16,673 26
uniform
VA Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/4 BPW. 625 8,476 32,601 12-26
VI Lesser of 26 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 429 10,062 20,124 30,186 13-26
WA Lesser of 30 x WBA and 1/3 BPW. 1,332 14,880 49,600 12-30 4/
WV N/A: Uniform duration state. 624 9,516 36,600 26
uniform
WI Lesser of 26 x WBA and 40% BPW. 588 8,554 8,225 21,385 12-26
WY Lesser of 26 x WBA and 30% BPW. 253 8,216 7,900 27,387 11-26

GENERAL NOTES: Since the high quarter and base period wage requirements for the minimum duration of the minimum weekly benefit amount are the

same as the wage and employment requirements to qualify for benefits, they are not repeated in this table. (See “Wage and Employment Requirements
for Benefits” table.) Some states will extend duration under certain circumstances. See chapter 4 for additional information.

1/ In states with weighted tables percent of benefits figures at bottom of lowest end of highest wage brackets; in states noted, percentage at other brackets
are higher and/or lower than percentage shown.
2/ When 2 amounts are given, higher includes dependents.
3/ In MT, in order to qualify for 28 weeks, individual’s ratio of total base period wages to HQ wages must be at least 3.5.
4/ In WA, drops to the lesser of 26 weeks or 1/3 base period wages if the state unemployment rate falls to 6.8% or below.
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SEASONAL EMPLOYMENT AND BENEFITS

Special provisions are found in several states’ laws restricting the payment of benefits to workers who earned
some or a substantial part of their base-period wages for employers’ whose operations take place only during certain
seasons of the year.

In these provisions, the term seasonal is defined - either in the statute or in the rules or regulations implementing
the statute - in terms of:

. the industry, employer, or occupation involved,
. the wages earned during the operating period of the employer or industry; and
. the worker.

In most states, the designation of seasonal industries, occupations, or employers and the beginning and ending
dates of their seasons is made in accordance with a formal procedure, following action initiated by the UI agency or
upon application by the employers or workers involving hearings and presentation of supporting data. Arkansas law
provides that any employer classified as a seasonal employer may request not to be treated as a seasonal employer.

In other states a seasonal pursuit, industry, or employer is defined in such terms as one in which, because of
climatic conditions or the seasonal nature of the employment, it is customary to operate only during a regularly recurring
period or periods of less than (a specified number of weeks): 16 weeks in Massachusetts; 26 weeks in Colorado; 26
weeks in Indiana; 26 weeks in Maine (except for seasonal lodging facilities, variety store or trading post, restaurants and
camps, where a period of less than 26 weeks applies); 26 weeks in Michigan, 26 weeks in Ohio; and 36 weeks in North
Carolina.

In general, the restrictions on the payment of benefits to workers employed during the operating periods of these
seasonal industries fall into one of four groups.

1. The most frequent restriction provides that wage credits earned in seasonal employment are available for
payment of benefits only for weeks of unemployment in the benefit year that fall within the operating period of the
employer or industry where they were earned: wage credits earned in non-seasonal work or in employment with a
seasonal employer outside the operating period are available for payment of benefits at any time in the benefit year. The
states with this type of provision are listed below, together with the definitions of “seasonal worker” to whom the
restrictions apply:

TABLE 3-13: SEASONAL WAGE CREDITS AVAILABLE ONLY DURING SEASON

AR | Off-season wages of (a) less than 30 times | ME | Some seasonal wages in operating period of | NC | 25 percent or more of

the weekly benefit amount, if worker's seasonal employer. base-period wages earned
seasonal wages were earned in an industry in operating period of
with an operating period of 2-6 months; or seasonal employer.

(b) less than 24 times the weekly benefit
amount, if seasonal wages were earned in
an industry with operating period of 7-8

months.

AZ | For employment in transient lodging only, [ MA | Some seasonal wages in operating period of | OH | Some seasonal wages
no benefits based on seasonal wages seasonal industry. earned in operating
during the off-season if unemployment is period of seasonal
due to substantial slowdown in operations. employer.
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TABLE 3-13: SEASONAL WAGE CREDITS AVAILABLE ONLY DURING SEASON
CO [ Some seasonal wages in operating period MI | Wages must be within seasonal period of 26 | PA | Seasonal wages for less
of seasonal industry. weeks or less. Designation of employment as than 180 days of work in
seasonal is voluntary. operating period.
Applies only if
reasonable assurance of
reemployment exists.
IN Some seasonal wages in operating period MS | Off-season wages of (a) less than 30 times SD | Some wages earned in
of seasonal employer. the weekly benefit amount, if worker's operating period of
seasonal wages were earned in a cotton seasonal employer.
ginning industry or professional baseball with
an operating period of 6-26 weeks; or (b) less
than 24 times the weekly benefit amount, if
seasonal wages were earned in a cotton
ginning industry or professional baseball with
operating period of 27-36 weeks.
2. Other states have established differing seasonal provisions, which are listed below.
TABLE 3-14: OTHER SEASONAL PROVISIONS

DE Individual with 75% or more of base period earnings in seasonal employment — defined as the processing of agricultural or seafood
products - will be eligible only if the individual had been employed in the corresponding month of the base period.

MN Individual may use seasonal wage credits — defined as employment with a single employer in the recreation or tourist industry that is
available for 15 consecutive weeks or less each calendar year — only if individual is able to establish a benefit year without using such
seasonal wages. Seasonal wage credits may not be used to establish eligibility outside the normal employment season.

WV Individual working less than 100 days in seasonal employment is not eligible unless the individual has non-seasonal employment of at
least $100.

WI Individual working less than 90 days for a seasonal employer is not eligible unless the individual is paid wages of $500 or more by at

least one other employer.

DEDUCTIONS AND WITHHOLDING FROM BENEFITS

Under federal law, Ul must be paid to a worker as a matter of right and may not be intercepted to satisfy debts or

other obligations. However, federal law provides some exceptions to this requirement and these are discussed below.

OVERPAYMENTS—ALII states reduce Ul otherwise payable to recover earlier overpayments of Ul. See the
Overpayments chapter for more information on this topic.

CHILD SUPPORT—Federal law requires states to deduct child support obligations from Ul only when the obligations
are enforced by the state child support agency.

OVERISSUANCES OF FOOD STAMPS—If the worker owes an uncollected over-issuance of Food Stamps, states
may deduct such amount from Ul benefits payable. The table below indicates which state laws provide for these
deductions. However, all of these states do not necessarily make these deductions; it depends on whether the state Ul
and Food Stamp agencies have entered into agreements.

TABLE 3-15: STATES WITH AUTHORITY TO DEDUCT FOOD STAMP OVER-ISSUANCES
State State State State State State State State
AL X DE X IN MA X NV OH SC VI X
AK DC 1A X MI NH X OK X SD X VA X
AZ X FL KS X MN NJ X OR TN X WA
AR X GA X KY MS NM X PA TX X WV X
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TABLE 3-15: STATES WITH AUTHORITY TO DEDUCT FOOD STAMP OVER-ISSUANCES

CA HI X [ LA X MO X NY X PR UT X WI
CcO X |ID ME X MT X NC RI VT X wYy X
CT IL X | MD NE X ND

INCOME TAX—Federal law requires states to offer workers the opportunity to have income tax withheld from Ul
benefits at the rate of 10 percent. Federal law also permits states to withhold state and local income tax from UI
benefits. The following table indicates which states offer workers the opportunity to have state (and/or local) income
taxes withheld.

TABLE 3-16: WITHHOLDING STATE AND LOCAL INCOME TAX AT CLAIMANT OPTION

State | State | Local | State | State | Local | State | State | Local | State | State | Local State State Local
AL HI X 1/ MI 2/ NC X TN X X
AK NA 1D X MN X ND X TX NA

AZ X IL X X MS X X OH UT X X
AR IN X MO | X X OK |2/ VT 2/

CA 1A X MT OR X VI

CcO X KS X X NE X PA VA

CT X X KY X NV NA PR WA NA

DE X X LA NH X X RI X \VAY

DC X X ME X X NJ SC X WI X

FL NA MD X NM X X SD NA WY NA

GA X MA X NY X X
NA: No state income tax.
1/ Local income taxes deducted and withheld from the worker's UI for other states and localities.
2/ If federal taxes are elected to be withheld from UI benefits then state taxes will be withheld as well.

HEALTHCARE COVERAGE—Illinois and Oklahoma law authorize the deduction of health insurance premiums
deducted from the UI weekly benefit amount if the worker so elects, provided that the state has an approved health care
plan for unemployed workers. However, neither state has implemented this authority. Massachusetts has a health
insurance program for unemployed workers; however, it is unrelated to the UI program.
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