CHAPTER 3

MONETARY ENTITLEMENT

IN GENERAL

This chapter deals with the monetary requirements of state Ul laws, including work history, benefit
amounts, and the length of time during which an individual may receive UC.

Although the states have developed many different ways to determine monetary entitlement to UC,
there are also many similarities. This chapter discusses the following:

« wages and employment needed in a “base period” to qualify;

« period during which UC may be collected, commonly called the “benefit year”;
. amount payable for a week of total or partial unemployment;

« dependents’ allowances;

« waiting periods; and

« maximum amount of regular UC an individual may receive in a benefit year.

Note: Information regarding deductible income provisions is located in the nonmonetary eligibility chapter.

While most individuals are employed in the state in which they reside, many individuals regularly
commute to a different state to work, work in more than one state, or move to a different state to look for new
work when they become unemployed. The law of the state under which the individual claims benefits applies as
it would for any other individual. Determinations on eligibility, disqualifications, and the amount and duration
of benefits are made by the state in which the wages were paid. However, the process by which these
individuals apply for benefits may vary. (For example, the Interstate Benefit Payment Plan provides a method
of filing for benefits in the state in which an individual has qualifying wages even though the individual is not
physically present in that state.)

Although this chapter analyzes monetary factors separately, the relationship among these factors is
complex. In comparing state laws, consideration often needs to be given to these relationships.
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BASE PERIOD AND BENEFIT YEAR

An individual’s benefit rights are determined using wages and employment during a period of time
called the base period. Benefits may be paid during a period of time called the benefit year. Individuals who
exhaust their benefits before the end of a benefit year must wait until a new benefit year is established before
they can again draw benefits.

BENEFIT YEARS—The benefit year is a 1-year or 52-week period during which an individual may receive
benefits based on a previous period of employment. In all states, the beginning date of the benefit year depends
on when an individual first files a “valid claim,” meaning the individual meets minimal wage and employment
requirements. In most states, the benefit year begins with the week in which the valid claim is filed. Exceptions
are:

TABLE 3-1: WHEN BENEFIT YEAR BEGINS - OTHER THAN THE WEEK A FIRST CLAIM IS FILED

AR Benefit year begins with the first day of the quarter in which a claim is first filed. As a result, the benefit “year” ranges from
40 to 52 weeks.
NY Benefit year consists of 53 weeks beginning with the effective date of a valid claim.

BASE PERIODS—The base period is the time period during which wages earned and/or hours/weeks worked
are examined to determine an individual’s monetary entitlement to benefits. Almost all states use the first 4 of
the last 5 completed calendar quarters preceding the filing of the claim as their base period. Massachusetts uses
the four completed calendar quarters preceding the first day of the benefit year. Minnesota uses the last four
completed calendar quarters provided the effective date of the claim is not during the month immediately
following the fourth completed calendar quarter.

Because base-period employment and/or earnings are an imperfect proxy for labor market attachment,
there are instances when individuals with labor market attachment are ineligible for benefits. To address this,
some states developed expanded definitions of the base period.

Alternative Base Periods (ABP)—A base period consisting of the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar
quarters results in a lag of up to 6 months between the end of the base period and the date an individual becomes
unemployed/files a claim. As a result, the individual’s most recent work history is not used when making an
eligibility determination. For individuals failing to qualify under the regular base period, many states use an
ABP. For example, if the individual fails to qualify using wages and employment in the first 4 of the last 5
completed calendar quarters, the state will use wages and employment in the last 4 completed calendar quarters.

Extended Base Periods (EBP)—Several states allow individuals who have no wages in the current base period
to use older wages and employment under certain conditions. These conditions typically involve illness or
injury. For example, an individual who was injured on the job and who has collected workers’ compensation
benefits may use wages and employment preceding the date of the individual’s injury to establish eligibility.
(Note that some state laws may describe these base periods as “alternative” base periods.)

The following table outlines the options states use in addition to the standard base period.

TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS

State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters ABP: Last 4 completed quarters

AK | EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if individual was AR EBP: Up to 4 quarters if individual has insufficient wages to
incapable of working during the greater part of a establish a claim because of a job-related injury for which the
quarter individual received worker’s compensation
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TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS

State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters following previous BP
when new BY overlaps preceding BY;; also, first 4 of
AZ last 5 complet_ed quarters preceding the week a CA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
compensable industrial injury began if not qualified
under normal base period, if claim is filed within 2
years of beginning of disability
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
CO | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters CT
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters preceding sickness or disability
DE | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters DC | ABP: Last4 completed quarters
GA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters HI ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
APB: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: An individual who experienced a temporary total
ID disability may elect a BP of the first 4 of the last 5 IL EBP: BP extended up to 1 year if the individual received
completed quarters preceding the disability if the temporary total disability under a workers’ compensation act or
individual filed a claim within 3 years of the disability occupational diseases act
and no later than 6 months after the end of the
disability
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
IN EBP: Up to 4 quarters preceding the last day the 1A EBP: BP extended 3 or more quarters if the individual received
individual was able to work ) - . e .
workers’ compensation or weekly indemnity insurance benefits
for 3 or more quarters
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if an individual, due to job-
KS KY related injury or who has received workers’ compensation, files a
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters preceding the date of Ul claim within 4 weeks after having last received workers’
qualifying injury compensation
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if 1 quarter has
ME been used in a previoﬁs detgrmination, e?(tend the BY MD ] ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
up to 1 week if there would otherwise be overlapping
of the same quarter in 2 consecutive BPs
ABP: Last 3 quarters, plus any weeks of work in
quarter in which claim is filed; individual may also
elect to use this ABP if it results in a 10% or more
MA Increase in WBA Mi ABP: Last 4 complet_ed quarters if individual fails to meet
EBP: BP extended to 52 weeks if individual received qualifying wage requirements
compensation for temporary total disability under a
workers® compensation law for more than 7 weeks in
BP
= 1
ABP: First 4 of last 5 completed quarters ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
MN | EBP: Upto 4 quarters depend!ng on length of time an by EBP: Up to 4 quarters preceding the disability if the claim was
individual received compensation for temporary fi o LT T
I | - iled within 24 months from the date of the individual’s disability
disability under a workers’ compensation law
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
. EBP: Last 4 quarters preceding BY if 1 quarter has been used in
NE | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters AN a previous determination; extend the BY up to 1 week if there
would otherwise be overlapping of the same quarter in 2
consecutive BPs
ABP: BP may be one of two alternatives: 1) last 4 completed
NH | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters NJ quarters or 2) last 3 completed quarters, plus any weeks of work
in quarter in which claim is filed
NM | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters NY | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
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TABLE 3-2: STATES WITH ALTERNATIVE AND EXTENDED BASE PERIODS

State ABP/EBP State ABP/EBP
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: Up to 4 quarters, if individual has insufficient
NC [ wages to establish a claim because of a job-related OH | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
injury for which the individual received workers’
compensation
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
OK OR EBP: BP extended up to 4 quarters if the individual is disabled
EBP: 4 quarters prior to regular base period for the majority of a quarter; if the individual received worker’s
compensation, the base year can be extended up to 4 quarters
preceding the illness or injury
EBP: Last 4 completed quarters immediately
PA pr_ec_edlng the date o,f the injury _|f the |r_1d|V|duaI was PR ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
eligible for workers’ compensation during the
individual’s current BP
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
RI EBP: Individual who received workers’ compensation sC ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
and has requested reinstatement to a previous position ' P g
that no longer exists is eligible to have base period
determined as of the date of the work-related injury
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: Individual who received temporary total EBP: Individual who received temporary total disability
SD | disability payments under workers’ compensation law TN | payments under workers’ compensation law may use a BP of the
may use a BP of the first 4 of the last 5 completed last 4 completed quarters preceding the disability if a claim
quarters preceding the disability if a claim is filed
within 24 months of the date the disability occurred
ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
tEhz’F(;:at:af:: ilrr\](;tiI\flild(i:ailllsn’1 iﬁr:(lels,esdovr\“i:lhIunr Zﬁemgrrlltgrs from EBP: First 4 of last 5 completed quarters prior to date of
TX occurred. the BP will be the first 4 gf t%/e Iagst 5 UT | illness/injury; individual must have received temporary disability
com Ietéd uarters preceding the illness or iniur payments during normal BP, filed initial claim no later than 90
P 4 P 9 Jury days after release to work and within 36 months of the date the
injury/illness occurred
VA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters VI ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
ABP: One of two alternatives: 1) last 4 quarters or, if
VT | still ineligible 2) last 3 quarters plus any weeks of work | WA | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
in quarter in which claim is filed
WV | ABP: Last 4 completed quarters? Wi ABP: Last 4 completed quarters
EBP: An individual who experienced a temporary total
disability under workers’ compensation may elect a BP
WY of the last 4 completed quarters preceding the date of

injury if the individual filed a claim within 3 years of
the date of injury and no later than 60 days after notice
of the end of the disability

GENERAL NOTE: Information about various base periods used in MA and MN is located in paragraphs preceding this table.

L1 the claim has an effective date during the month immediately following the last completed calendar quarter, the base period is the first 4 of
the last 5 completed calendar quarters; however, the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters must be used if the individual has more
wage credits in those quarters than in the last 4 completed quarters.

2To be eligible under ABP, must have total BPW of at least $2,200 and wages in at least 2 quarters.

QUALIFYING WAGES OR EMPLOYMENT

All states require an individual to have earned a certain amount of wages or to have worked for a certain
period of time (or both) within the base period to be monetarily eligible to receive any benefits. Most
individuals qualify for benefits based on employment and wages in a single state. However, some individuals
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who work in more than one state will not have sufficient employment and wages in any single state to establish
monetary eligibility, or would be eligible for a lower weekly benefit amount. In these situations, individuals
may file a claim in one of the states where they worked, and elect to combine the employment and wages earned
in one or more of the other states in which they had employment and wages to establish eligibility or to increase
the weekly benefit amount. The “paying state” for a combined wage claim combines all base-period
employment and wages earned under its law with employment and wages transferred from other states to
determine the individual’s monetary eligibility under its law. For example, if the individual has earned wages in
Illinois and Indiana, the individual may elect to file a combined wage claim using Illinois’ law. Because of the
potential of establishing more than one benefit year in more than one state, Federal regulations stipulate that
employment and wages transferred from one state to a second state for use in establishing a combined wage
claim in that second “paying” state cannot be used again to establish monetary eligibility. The methods that
states use to determine monetary eligibility vary greatly, as described in the following text.

Multiple of High-Quarter Wages—Under this method, individuals must earn a certain dollar amount in the
guarter with the highest earnings of their base period. Individuals must also earn total base-period wages that
are a multiple of the high-quarter wages (typically 1%2). For example, if an individual earns $5,000 in the high
quarter, the individual must earn another $2,500 in the rest of the base period. States require earnings in more
than one quarter to minimize the likelihood that individuals with high earnings in only one quarter receive
benefits.

Multiple of Weekly Benefit Amount—Under this method, the state first computes the individual’s weekly
benefit amount. The individual must have earned an amount equal to or greater than a specified multiple of the
weekly benefit amount during the base period. For example, if an individual’s weekly benefit amount is $100,
in a state requiring earnings equal to 40 times the weekly benefit amount, the individual will need base-period
earnings of $4,000. Most states also require wages in at least two quarters. Some states have weighted
schedules that require varying multiples for varying weekly benefits.

Flat Qualifying Amount—States using this method require a certain dollar amount of total wages to be earned
during the base period. This method is often used by states with an annual wage requirement for determining
the weekly benefit and by some states with a high-quarter-wage/weekly benefit requirement.

Weeks/Hours of Employment—Under this method, the individual must have worked a certain number of
weeks/hours at a certain weekly/hourly wage.

The following table provides information on the qualifying formulas used by the states, and the minimum wages
needed to qualify for benefits in each state.

TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS

Minimum Wages Needed to
State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment Sian Qualify:
g Base Period
Quarter
. . >$2,314
AL 1¥%2 x HQW in BP NA (in 2 HOs)
AK $2,500 flat amount and wages in 2 quarters of BP NA $2,500
1% x HQW in BP and 390 x minimum wage in effect ($3,140) in one quarter; alternative flat-
AZ amount requirement - wages in 2 quarters of BP, wages in 1 quarter sufficient to qualify for the $3,140 $4,710
maximum WBA, and total BPW > the taxable wage base ($7,000)
AR 35 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters of BP NA $2,835
CA $1,300 in HQ; alternatively $900 in HQ with BPW = 1% x HQ $900 $1,125
CO | 40 x WBA or $2,500 in BP, whichever is greater $1,084 $2,500
in 2 HQs
CT 40 x WBA in BP NA $600
DE \3;SBXAWBA in BP; if insufficient BPW, but (36 x WBA) - BPW < $180, eligible for reduced NA $720
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TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS

Minimum Wages Needed to

State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment - Qualify:
T Base Period
Quarter
DC $1,300 in one quarter, $1,950 in 2 quarters, and 1% x HQW in BP or within $70 of meeting the $1.300 $1,950
1% HQW in BP requirement ' In 2 HQs
FL 1% x HQW in BP; minimum of $3,400 in BP $2,267 $3,400
1% x HQW in BP; alternatively 1/21 HQW for WBA with 40 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 $1,760
GA $924 .
quarters in 2 HQs
HI 26 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters NA $130
1% x HQW in BP and $1,872 in HQW; minimum HQW, determined on January 1, must equal
ID 50% of state minimum wage multiplied by 520 hours (rounded to the next lower multiple of the $1,872 $2,340
weekly benefit multiplier)
IL $1,600 flat amount and $440 outside HQ NA $1,600
n - - - -
IN 1% x HQW in BP, not less than $4,200 in BP, and wages totaling at least $2,500 in last 2 NA $4.200
quarters of BP
1, i 0, 1 1 1
1A 1¥4 x HQW in BP (HQW must equal 3.5% of the statewide AAW) and ¥2 HQW in another $1.480 $2.220
quarter
KS 30 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters $2,777 $3,540
KY 1% x HQW in BP, 8 x WBA in last 2 quarters of BP, $750 outside HQW $2,154 $3,230
LA 1% x HQW in BP $800 $1,200
$1,528
ME 2 x AWW in each of 2 different quarters and total wages of 6 x AWW in BP in each of 2 >$4,584
Qtrs
Wages in 2 quarters equal 1%z x $1,200 (established by schedule in law) and >$1,176 in HQ;
MD alternate eligibility for a lower WBA can be establishes if BP wages meet a specified amount on >$1176 $1800
the wage schedule.
MA 30 x WBA in BP and $3,900 minimum in BP NA $3,900
1%2 x HQW in BP and wages in 1 quarter equal to $3,162; alternatively BPW equal to 20 times
Al the state AWW and wages in 2 quarters $3,162 >$4,743
MN 5.3 percent of state AAW rounded to the lower $100 NA $2,700
MS 40 x WBA in BP, 26 x minimum WBA in HQ and wages in 2 quarters $780 $1,200
1, i i . i i 1
MO 1% X HQW in BP and $1,500 in one quarter; alternatively wages in 2 quarters and BPW of 1% x $1,500 $2.250
maximum taxable wage base for that year
1, i i 0, . i 0
MT 1% x HQW in BP with total BP wages > 7% of the AAW; alternatively total BPW > 50% of $1.780 $2,670
AAW
NE $4,108 in BP, $1,850 in HQ, $800 in another quarter $1,850 $4,108
n - - - - - -

NV iln/z|_|xQHQW in BP and $400 in HQ; alternatively wages in 3 of the 4 quarters in the BP and $400 $400 $600
NH $1,400 in each of 2 quarters $1,400 $2,800
—— - - - —

NJ 20 base weeks (base week is 20% of state AWW); alternatively 1,000 times the state minimum NA $3.360
hourly wage ($8.38)
NM Wages in 2 quarters $1,920 $1,921
1, i . ini
NY _1/2 x HQW in BP; HQW equal to 221 x state minimum wage, rounded to the next lower $100 $1,900 $2,850
increment
NC 6 x AWW in BP and wages in last 2 quarters NA $1,560
g q in last 2 Qtrs
. $2,795
1 )
ND 1% x HQW in BP NA in 2.5 Qtrs
OH 20 weeks employment with wages in each week of at least 27.5% of the state AWW in BP and NA $4,860
wages in 2 quarters
1% x HQW in BP and $1,500 in BP; alternatively flat-amount requirement > $18,700 in BP
QIS (100% state taxable wage base) NA $1,500
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TABLE 3-3: BASE PERIOD WAGE AND EMPLOYMENT REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS
Minimum Wages Needed to
. . Qualify:
State Qualifying Formula: Wages or Employment -
T Base Period
Quarter
1, i i . i - i
OR 1% x HQW in BP and $1,000 in BP; alternatively flat-amount requirement 500 hours of $667 $1,000
employment in BP
PA 18 credit weeks and at least 49.5% BPW outside of HQ $1,688 $3,391
40 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters; if fail to meet qualifying requirement for WBA
PR computed on HQW but do meet qualifying requirement for next lower bracket, eligible for lower $75 $280
WBA, unlimited step-down provision; PR has a flat qualifying requirement for agricultural
workers; individual’s annual salary is used for agricultural workers
1% x HQW in BP and 200 x minimum hourly wage in 1 quarter and BP wages at least 400 x the
RI i . - o - $1,920 $3,840
minimum hourly wage; alternatively $1200 x minimum hourly wage in BP
SC 1% x HQW in BP and $1,092 HQW and $4,455 BPW $1,092 $4,455
SD $728 in HQ and 20 x WBA outside HQ $728 $1,288
>$780 >$1,560
TN 40 x WBA in BP and lesser of 6 x WBA or $900 outside HQ in each of 2 S
in 2 HQs
Qtrs
TX 37 x WBA in BP and wages in 2 quarters $1,613 $2,405
n - > - -
uT 1% x HQW in BP (BPW must be 8% of state average fiscal year wages in BP, rounded to the $2.334 $3.500
higher $100)
VT _1.4 X HQ_W in BP (HQ_V\_/ will be adjusted by a percentage increase equal to the percentage $2.386 $3.341
increase in the state minimum wage for the prior year)
. . $3,000
VA $3,000 in 2 highest quarters of BP NA in 2 HOs
Vi 1% x HQW in BP and $858 in HQ; alternatively flat-amount requirement $858 in HQW and 39 $858 $1,287
X WBA in BP
WA 680 hours employment in BP and wages in BP or alternate BP NA NA
wv $2,200 flat amount and wages in 2 quarters NA $2,200
WI 35 x WBA in BP with 4 x WBA outside HQ and wages in at least 2 quarters $1,350 $1,890
1.4 x HQW in BP (BPW must be > 8% of statewide AAW rounded down to lower $50
Wy increment — minimum HQW requirement calculated by dividing BPW by 4 and rounded down to $850 $3,550
the lower $50 increment)
GENERAL NOTE: Additional monetary requirements in some state laws result in minimum high-quarter and/or base-period wages that are
higher than what the qualifying formula alone would require.

QUALIFYING FOR A SECOND BENEFIT YEAR

Since the standard base period established by states’ laws results in a significant lag between the end of

the base period and the establishment of a benefit year, an individual could conceivably use lag-period wages
and employment to qualify for 2 consecutive benefit years during one long unemployment spell (after benefits
are exhausted and the first benefit year ended). As a result, all states require individuals to earn wages after the
beginning of the first benefit year. In many states, the amount an individual must earn is a multiple (from 3 to

10) of the weekly benefit amount. A few states require an individual to earn wages sufficient to meet the

minimum qualifying requirement. In addition, some states specify that the wages needed to requalify must be
earned in covered employment.

TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED)

Subsequent to Wages Subsequent to Wages
Beginning of SIEEBTUEE (D Must Be in Beginning of SITEBTIEED Must Be
State . Date of Last Other State 3 Date of Last Other .
Preceding valid Claim Insured Preceding valid Claim in Insured
Benefit Year Work Benefit Year Work
AL 8 X AK 8
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TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED)

Subsequent to Subsequent to Wages Subsequent to Subsequent to Wages
State Beglnnlr_\g of Date of Last Other R State Beglnnlr]g of Date of Last Other . HUUELED
Preceding valid Claim Insured Preceding valid Claim in Insured
Benefit Year Work Benefit Year Work
AZ 8 AR 8 X
Equivalent
qualifying
CA wages as in (6{0) $2,000
preceding
BY
5 or $300,
CT whichever is X DE 10 X
greater
DC 10 FL 3
GA 10 X HI 5 X
6; wages must
ID be in bona fide IL 3
work
IN 8 1A $250 X
KS 8 KY 5
6; or 3/13th of
LA HQW, X ME 8 X
whichever is
less
MD 10 X MA 3
Ml 5 MN 5.3% AAW X
MS 8 X MO 5; 10 x WBA in X
non-covered work
6; or 3/13th of Vx]aierz ('i”
MT .HQW’ . X NE work at X
whichever is
less least 6 x
WBA
$700 during or
NV 3 NH subsequent to X
benefit year
4 weeks of
employment
L and at least 6 x Nl 5
WBA in wages
NY 10 NC 10 X
3 x AWW and
ND 10t X OH covered X
employment in 6
weeks
OK 10 X OR 6 X
3; for at least
PA 6 PR one CQ, but not X
< $50
Insured
80 x the work; must
RI minimum X SC 8 be with a
hourly wage single
employer
SD 4 X TN 5 X
TX 6 uT 6 X
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TABLE 3-4: WAGES NEEDED TO ESTABLISH NEW BENEFIT YEAR (AMOUNT TIMES WBA UNLESS INDICATED)

Subsequent to Subsequent to Wages Subsequent to Subsequent to Wages
State Beglnnlr_\g of Date of Last Other be1 S5 1232 State Beglnnlr]g of Date of Last Other . HUUELED
Preceding valid Claim Insured Preceding valid Claim in Insured
Benefit Year Work Benefit Year Work
VT 4 X VA 30 days or 24(3 X
hours of work
VI 6 WA 6
WV 8 X wi 8 X
WYy 8

! Does not apply to employment by a partnership, corporation, or limited liability company if, at the time claim is filed, ownership interest has been
ceded.
2 Must be with one employer.

WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT

After determining if an individual has sufficient wages and/or employment to qualify for benefits, it is
necessary to determine the weekly benefit amount, that is, the amount payable for a week of total
unemployment. As previously mentioned, Ul is intended to provide partial wage replacement. For this reason,
all individuals do not receive the same benefit amount. Some states replace approximately 50% of individuals’
lost wages up to a certain limit (usually the average weekly wage in the state). As a result, states tend to replace
a higher percentage of low-wage individuals’ income than they do for high-wage individuals. Several states
provide dependents’ allowances. All states round weekly benefits to an even dollar amount.

States determine eligibility for benefits on the basis of the calendar week (generally, Sunday through the
following Saturday). In many states, the claim week is adjusted to coincide with the employer’s payroll week
when an individual files a benefit claim for partial unemployment.

METHODS OF COMPUTING WEEKLY BENEFITS

As with qualifying wages, states utilize a variety of methods to determine an individual’s weekly benefit
amount.

High-Quarter Method—Slightly more than half of the states determine the weekly benefit amount by using the
base period quarter in which wages were highest. This quarter is viewed as the period most nearly reflecting
full-time work for the individual. By dividing this amount by 13 (the number of weeks in a calendar quarter) the
average weekly wage is calculated. Based on the percentage of the weekly wage the state intends to replace, the
weekly wage is divided and the weekly benefit amount is calculated. For example, an individual who earns
$2,600 in the high quarter has an average weekly wage of $200 a week ($2,600 divided by 13). If the state
replaces ¥ of the average weekly earnings, the weekly benefit amount is $100. To simplify the calculations,
states determine the “overall” multiple of the high-quarter wages to determine the weekly benefit amount. In the
previous example, it would be 1/26 (1/13 times ¥2). The most common multiple used by states is 1/26. Other
states that use high-quarter wages calculate the benefit as a percentage of high-quarter wages.

Since even the quarter of highest earnings may include some unemployment, some states use a fraction
generating a higher weekly benefit (e.g., 1/23). Some states use a weighted schedule, which gives a greater
proportion of the high-quarter wages to lower-paid individuals than to those earning more. In these states, the
maximum fraction varies from 1/11 to 1/26 while the minimum varies from 1/23 to 1/33.

Multi-Quarter Method—Several states compute the weekly benefit amount as a multiple of the total or
average quarterly wages paid in more than one quarter. This approach is viewed as being more likely to reflect
an individual’s usual full-time employment pattern since it surveys a greater period of time rather than just
focusing on the quarter with highest earnings.
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Annual-Wage Method—Under this method the weekly benefit is calculated as a percentage of annual wages in
the base period. This approach reflects the view that annual wages determine the individual’s standard of living.
Most states use a weighted schedule, which gives a larger proportion of annual wages to lower-paid individuals

to determine their weekly benefit amount.

Weekly-Wage Formula—Under this method the weekly benefit is calculated as a percentage of the
individual’s average weekly wages in the base period.

The following table provides information on how states calculate weekly benefit amounts, what the minimum
and maximum weekly benefit amounts are in each state, and the wages required to be eligible for the weekly
benefit amounts.

TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method of Calculating and

Weekly Benefit Amount

Minimum Wages Required

i for Maximum WBA
State Formula Rounding to _ i _ i : _
Minimum Maximum High quarter Base period
MQ . $13,754
s 1/26 of average wages in 2 high quarters Higher $ $45 $265 N/A in 2 quarters
AW
AK 0.9% - 2.2% BP wages + DA (see table in law) Nearest $ $56 - $128 $370 - $442 N/A $42,000
Az |09 Nearest § $126 $240 $5,988 $8,982
MQ
AR | 108 of average in 4 quarters Lower $ $81 $451 NA $46,904
HQ
CA | 1/23-1/26 (if HQW < $1,833, see table in law; Higher $ $40 $450 >$11,674 >$11,674
otherwise, 1/26 HQW)
HQ/WW
Higher of: $502 $10,877 in$221llj7a?’érs
(1) 60% of 1/26 of 2 highest consecutive (low formula) | (low formula) (low ?ormula)
CO | quarters, capped by 50% of average weekly Lower $ $25
earnings (low formula); or $552 Not applicable $57 408
(2) 50% of 1/52 BP earnings, capped by 55% of (high formula) | (high formula) (high f’c)rmula)
average weekly earnings (high formula) g
MQ/HQ $15,548
CT | 1/26 of the average of the 2HQs + DA, for Lower $ $15 - $30 $598 - $673 in each of 2 $23,920
construction workers, 1/26 of HQW + DA quarters
MQ $15,180
LS 1/46 of wages earned in highest 2 quarters Lower $ $20 $330 N/A in 2 quarters
pc | 1S Lower $ $50 $359 $9,334 $14,001
FL| S Lower $ $32 $275 $7,150 $10,725
MQ
1/42 wages in 2 HQs; computed as 1/21 of HQW $13.860
GA | when alternative qualifying wages are used Lower $ $44 $330 N/A in 2 l’Jarters
(Note: If individual would qualify for $27 - $44, g
the claimant’s WBA is $44.)
HI 1H/§1 Higher $ $5 $569 $11,929 $14,794
o |03 Lower $ $72 $410 $10,660 $13,325
MQ $24,115
IL | 47% of the claimant’s wages in highest 2 Higher $ $51 - $77 $437 - $595 N/A in 2 lljarters
quarters divided by 26 + DA q
Ww
IN 47% of AWW Lower $ $37 $390 N/A $43,149
HQ
IA | 1/19 (4 or more dependents) - 1/23 (no Lower $ $64 - $77 $431 - $529 $9,913 $12,392
dependents)
KS Z'SS% Lower $ $118 $474 $11,153 $14,220
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method of Calculating and

Weekly Benefit Amount

Minimum Wages Required

State Rounding to for Maximum WBA
Formula — T - T - -
Minimum Maximum High quarter Base period
AW
KY 1.1923% BPW Nearest $ $39 $415 N/A $34,765
MQ
LA? | 1/25 of the average wages in 4 quarters of BP x Lower $ $10 $221 to $284 N/A $22,100 to $28,400
1.05 x a multiple ranging from 1.03 to 1.32
MQ $17,468
ME | 1/22 of the average of the 2 HQs + DA (see table Lower $ $69 - $103 $397 - $595 N/A in 2 '
in law) in 2 quarters
HO $430
MD 1/24 + DA (see table in law) Higher $ $50-90 same with or >$10,296 $15,480
without DA
MQ . $37,544
MA | 50% of 1/26 of total wages in 2 HQs up to 57.5% Lower $ $37 - $55 $722 - $1,083 N/A in 2 hi h
of state AWW in 2 high quarters
HO $362
Ml 4.1% + DA Lower $ $117 - $147 same with or $8,830 $13,245
=70 without DA
$424 $11,024
$11,024
HQ/WW (based on (based on :
v | The higher of 50% of 1/52 BPW up to Lower § HQW) HQW) (based on HQW)
66%:% of the state AWW, or 50% of 1/13 HQ up $26 . $68.432
to 43% of the state’s AWW $658 Not applicable ’
(based on (based on (based on BPW)
BPW) BPW)
ms | D2 Lower $ $30 $235 $6,110 $9,400
MQ $16,000
— 4.0% of the average of the 2 HQs Lower $ $35 $320 NIA in 2 quarters
AW/MQ $25,632
s 1.0% of BPW or 1.9% of wages in the 2 HQs Lower $ $139 $487 N/A in 2 quarters
WwW
NE 1 of AWW, may not exceed ¥ of state AWW Lower even $ $70 $392 $10,192 $10,992
NV lH/% Lower $ $16 $417 $10,425 $15,638
NHO| AW . Nearest $ $32 $427 N/A $41,500
1.0% - 1.1% of BPW (see table in law) '
wWw $657 $21.900
NJ | 60% (base weeks’ wages/number of base weeks) Lower $ $100 - $115 same with or N/A in 20 Weeks
+ DA without DA
WWwW
NM | 53%% of AWW in HQ + DA; wages in 2 Lower $ $79 - $119 $423 - $473 $10,279 $10,280
quarters of BP
HQ/MQ
Wages in 4 quarters - 1/26 HQW or 1/25 if HQW
<$3,575
NY | Wages in 2 or 3 quarters - 1/26 average of the Lower $ $100 $420 $10,920 $16,380
highest 2 quarters, unless the HQW is <$4,000
but >$3,575 then 1/26 HQW, and if HQW is
<$3,575 then 1/25 HQW
MQ $18,200
A 1/52 of last 2 quarters Lower 3 $15 3350 N/A In last 2 quarters
MQ o $41,145
ND | 1/65 of (total wages earned in highest 2 quarters Lower $ $43 $633 N/A In25 luarters
and ¥ of total wages in third highest quarter) =4
Ww o : $17,400
OH | 50% (wages in qualified weeks in BP / number Lower $ $118 $435 - $587 N/A in 20 Weeks
of such weeks) + DA
ok | NS Lower $ $16 $505 $11,615 $17,423
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TABLE 3-5: WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method of Calculating and

Weekly Benefit Amount

Minimum Wages Required

State Rounding to for Maximum WBA
Formula — T : 7 - :
Minimum Maximum High quarter Base period
AW
OR 1.25% BP wages Lower $ $128 $549 N/A $43,920
HQ
PA 1/23 - 1/25 + DA (see table in law) Lower $ $70 - $78 $573 - $581 $14,263 $28,244
HQ
PR 111 - 1/26 Lower $ $7 $133 >$3,442 $5,320
MQ ) $27,278
RI 3.85% of average of 2 highest quarter wages + Lower $ $49 - $124 $566 - $707 N/A 5 '
DA quarters
sc | WW Lower $ $42 $326 $8,476 $12,714
50% AWW in HQ ' '
SD |1_|/(226 Lower $ $28 $366 $9,516 $16,836
MQ >$14,300
N 1/26 of average of 2 HQs (see table in law) Lower 3 $30 3215 N/A in 2 quarters
TX |1_|/§5 Nearest $ $65 $479 $11,963 $17,705
HQ
uT 1/26 minus $5 Lower $ $28 $509 $13,229 $19,844
MQ $20,070
i Wages in the 2 highest quarters divided by 45 Lower $ $74 $446 NIA in 2 quarters
MQ >$18,900
e 1/50 of 2 HQs (see table in law) Lower $ $60 $378 N/A in 2 quarters
vi |8 Lower $ $33 $477 $12,402 $18,603
MQ $34,494
L 3.85% of average of 2 HQs Lower $ $158 $664 N/A in 2 quarters
AW
WV | 55% of 1/52 of median wages in individual’s Lower $ $24 $424 N/A $40,150
wage class (see table in law)
w | HQ Lower $ $54 $370 $9,250 $12,950
4.0%
wy |59 Lower $ $35 $491 $12,275 $17,185
KEY: HQ = High Quarter Formula MQ = Multi-Quarter Formula AW = Annual Wage Formula WW = Average Weekly Wage Formula

DA = Dependent’s Allowances

GENERAL NOTE: Since the high quarter and base period wage requirements for the minimum weekly benefit amount are the same as the wage and
employment requirements to qualify for benefits, they are not repeated in this table. (See Table 3-3.) Additionally, in states where the benefit
entitlement is calculated using multi-quarter, annual wage, or average weekly wage formulas, the high-quarter cell is shown as N/A as no specific
level of wages is required in the high quarter pursuant to state law.

! When 2 WBAs are listed, higher figure includes DA. Higher figure for minimum and maximum WBASs includes DA for maximum number of
dependents.
2 Depending upon the procedure in place in a given year, different benefit multipliers are utilized. As a result, the MWBA varies from year to year

and similarly the amount of BPWs necessary to receive the MWBA fluctuates.

AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENTS TO WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNTS

In those states where Ul is intended to replace a specific percent of wages up to a fixed percent of the state’s
average weekly wage, the calculation of benefit entitlement is determined by the state’s average weekly wage.
Because wages increase, states recalculate the average weekly wage periodically to update the benefits schedule
and continue to replace the desired percentage of an individual’s lost wages. The maximum weekly benefit
amount is usually more than 50 percent of the average weekly wage in covered employment within the state
during a recent 1-year period. In most states, the minimum weekly benefit is an amount specified in the law.
However, some states’ laws link the minimum weekly benefit amount with the states’ average weekly wage as

well. The following table includes states with automatic adjustments to benefit amounts.
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TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENTS TO BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method of Computation

Semiannually as % of

Annually as % of AWW in AWW in Covered Percentage of State AWW
Covered Employment in: L
Employment in:
State 12 Months
12 12 Ending 6 All Effective
Preceding Months | Months Months Industries Maximum Minimum Date Of
CY Ending Ending Before In State New
March 31 | June 30 Effective Amounts
Date
. 12% (low
2/,0,
AR X 66%% (high formula) formula) July 1
CO X 55% July 1
60%; based on AWW of production
cT X and related workers (may not be 1% Sunday
increased by more than $18 in any in October
year)
DC X 66%:% January 1
HI X 70% January 1
Percentage varies (52% - 60%)
ID X depending upon the base tax rate in a January 1
given year
47%; for claimants with dependents,
maximum is limited to 65.2% of
IL X state’s AWW, which is based on January 1
percentage changes from year to
year
53% for claimants with no
IA X dependents; for claimants with 1% Sunday
dependents, ranges from 55% to in July
65%
25% of
0,
KS X 60% max WBA July 1
62%; cannot increase in any year
KY X Wher_1 tax schedule increases from July 1
previous year (year-to-year increases
limited depending on fund balance)
LA X 6624% Septelmber
ME X 52% June 1
1% Sunday
1/,0,
M X 57%2% in October
Higher of 50% of the individual’s
AWW in the BP to a maximum of Last
MN X 66%:% of the state AWW; or 50% of sunday in
the individual’s AWW during the Octog/er
HQ to a maximum of 43% of the
state AWW
MT X 67%2% 20% July 1
NV X 50% July 1
NJ X 56%:% January 1
st
NM X 53 14% 100 | L Sunday
in January
NC X 66%:% August 1
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TABLE 3-6: STATES WITH AUTOMATIC ADJUSTMENTS TO BENEFIT AMOUNTS

Method of Computation

Annually as % of AWW in

Semiannually as % of

4 Ermol __ AWW in Covered Percentage of State AWW
Covered Employment in: Employment in:
State 12 Months
12 12 Ending 6 All Effective
Preceding Mon_ths Mon_ths Months Industries Maximum Minimum Date Of
CY Ending Ending Before In State New
March 31 | June 30 Effective Amounts
Date
62%; 65% of state AWW if trust
fund reserves on Oct. 1 are > the
ND X required amount and the state’s 1% Sunday
average contribution rate is < the in July
nationwide average for the preceding
year
Percentage used is not specified in 1% Sunday
OH X :
law in January
The greater of $197 or 60%, 57.7%,
55%, 52Y%:% or 50% of state AWW
OK X of the second preceding CY, July 1
depending on the condition of the
fund
OR X 64% 15% Week of
July 4
PA x? 66%% January 1
PR X 50% July 1
RI X 57.7% July 1
SC X 66%:% July 1
SD X 50% July 1
TX X 47.6% 7.6% October 1
uT X 62%% minus $5 January 1
st
VT X Percentage not specified by law ! _Sunday
in July
VI X 65% January 1
st
WA X 63% 150 | L Sunday
in July
wv X 66%:% July 1
15% of
2/0
Wi X 66%:% of the average wages per maximum January 1
average week and July 1
rate
st
WY X 55% 4% 1" Sunday
in July

! State AWW computed using 36-month period.

WAITING PERIOD

Individuals who are otherwise eligible for benefits must first serve a waiting period in most states. In
most states, the waiting period requirement for weeks of partial unemployment is the same as for weeks of total
unemployment. The waiting period is served in or with respect to a particular benefit year. Special provisions
may exist for successive benefit years. (When an individual, after intervening employment, has an additional
spell of unemployment that continues beyond the end of the first benefit year, the individual may not have to
serve another waiting week if he is monetarily eligible for benefits in the second year.)
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TABLE 3-7: STATE INITIAL WAITING PERIODS

State (ial:,:;:;fsr)l* Becomes Compensable After: May Be Waived Under These Circumstances
AL 1
AK 1
AZ 1
AR 1
During a state of war emergency or a state of emergency if
CA 1t compliance with the waiting period requirement would prevent,
hinder, or delay the mitigation of the effects of a state of
emergency (e.g., natural disaster)
co 1?
CT No waiting period
DE 1
DC 1
FL 1
GA No waiting period
HI 1
ID 1
IL 1
For individuals who become unemployed due to employer
IN 12 terminating business operations within the state, declaring
bankruptcy, or initiating a workforce reduction pursuant to the
Federal WARN Act
1A No waiting period
For individuals who become unemployed due to employer
KS 1 terminating business operations within the state, the employer
declaring bankruptcy, or a workforce reduction that is subject to
the Federal WARN Act
The remaining balance on claim is equal to
KY 1 or less than compensable amount for
waiting week
LA 1
ME 1
MD No waiting period
MA 1 No waivers though authority exists and has been used before
Ml No waiting period
If the individual would have been entitled to DUA but has
MN 1 . .
established benefit account
In counties or areas identified for individual assistance, if the
MS 1 President declares a major disaster in accordance with Stafford
Act
The remaining balance on claim is equal to
MO 1 or less than compensable amount for
waiting week
MT 1
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TABLE 3-7: STATE INITIAL WAITING PERIODS

State (ialws;'g)]* Becomes Compensable After: May Be Waived Under These Circumstances
NE 1
NV No waiting period
NH 1
NJ No waiting period
NM 1 Natural disaster, extended benefit program
NY 1 At the direction of the Governor
NC 1
ND 1
OH 1
OK 1
OR 1
PA 1
PR 1
RI 1 For individuals who become unemployed due to a natural disaster
or state of emergency
SC 1
SD 1
3 consecutive weeks of compensable
TN 1 unemployment immediately following a
waiting period
TX 12 Receipt of benefits equaling 3 x WBA
If Department approval for training is granted for the first eligible
uT 1 .
week of the claim
VT 1
For an individual whose unemployment was caused by his
employer terminating operations, closing its business, or declaring
VA 1 bankruptcy without paying the final wages earned as required by
Section 40.1-29 of the Code of Virginia
Authorized by the Governor under an executive order
VI 1?
WA 1
WV 1
WI 1
Wy No waiting period

* For total unemployment, partial unemployment, or in consecutive benefit years unless otherwise noted.

! One week waiting period is deferred if claimant is in continued claim status from a prior year’s claim. The one-week waiting period must
be served later in the new benefit year if there is an interruption of Ul payments for one or more weeks. Also, the 1-week waiting period
credit for the new benefit year may be served in the last week of the prior benefit year if the claim was exhausted prior to the last week of
that benefit year.

’ No waiting period required for new/consecutive benefit year.
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BENEFITS FOR PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT

Often, instead of being laid off, individuals may have their hours reduced during an economic downturn.
Unemployed individuals may also find short-term work while looking for a permanent, full-time job. These
circumstances characterize partial unemployment. The Ul system is set up to permit benefit receipt by these
individuals as long as they meet all eligibility requirements. However, the weekly benefit amount payable
differs.

A week of total unemployment is commonly defined as a week in which the individual performs no
work and with respect to which remuneration is not payable. In Puerto Rico, an individual is deemed totally
unemployed if earnings from self-employment are less than 1% times the weekly benefit amount or if no service
is performed for a working period of 32 hours or more in a week. In a few states, an individual is considered
totally unemployed in a week even though certain small amounts of wages are earned. In most states, an
individual is partially unemployed in a week of less than full-time work and earnings of less than the weekly
benefit amount. In some states, an individual is partially unemployed in a week of less than full-time work
when less than the weekly benefit amount plus an allowance is earned, either from odd-job earnings or from any
source as indicated in the following table.

The individual’s benefit will generally equal the difference between the weekly benefit amount and
earnings. All states disregard some earnings as an incentive to take part-time or short-term work.

When determining monetary entitlement to benefits, the state usually specifies a maximum dollar
amount that can be received, usually equal to a specified number of weeks of benefits for total unemployment
multiplied by the weekly benefit amount for total unemployment. Consequently, a partially unemployed
individual may draw benefits for a greater number of weeks than a totally unemployed individual.

Most state laws provide that the benefit for a week of partial unemployment will be rounded to the
nearest or the lower dollar. For example, in a state with a $30 earnings disregard and rounding to the nearest
dollar, an individual with a $40 weekly benefit amount and earnings of $50.95 would receive a partial benefit of
$19.

TABLE 3-8: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT AND EARNINGS DISREGARDED WHEN DETERMINING WEEKLY BENEFIT

Definition of Partial Earnings Disregarded in Definition of Partial Earnings Disregarded in
State Unemployment - Week of Computing Weekly State Unemployment - Week of Computing Weekly
Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit for Partial Less Than Full-Time Work if Benefit for Partial
if Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment
AL WBA 1/3 WBA AK 15 x WBA + $50 $50 and ¥4 wages over $50
AZ WBA $30 AR WBA + 2/5 WBA 2/5 WBA
CA WBA Greater of $25 or co WBA Y WBA
Y4 of wages
14 wages; includes holiday
. . pay in the remuneration WBA + greater of $10 N
CT 1% + basic WBA for determining partial DE or % WBA Greater of $10 or %2 WBA
benefits
DC WBA + $20 1/5 wages + $20 FL WBA 8 x Federal c‘v‘;‘;’;y minimum
GA WBA $50;fexc_|udes payments HI WBA $150
or jury service
ID WBA + % WBA % WBA IL WBA % WBA
Greater of $3 or 1/5 WBA
from other than base- 1 .
IN WBA period employers; 1A WBA + $15 7% WBA; excludes payments
for jury service
excludes payments for
jury service
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TABLE 3-8: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT AND EARNINGS DISREGARDED WHEN DETERMINING WEEKLY BENEFIT

Definition of Partial Earnings Disregarded in Definition of Partial Earnings Disregarded in
State Unemployment - Week of Computing Weekly State Unemployment - Week of Computing Weekly
Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit for Partial Less Than Full-Time Work if Benefit for Partial
if Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment
KS WBA Y2 WBA KY 1¥4 x WBA 1/5 wages
$25; excludes wages
received by members of the
National Guard and
organized labor, including
base pay and allowances or
any amounts received as a
LA WBA Lesser of - WBA or $50 | ME WBA + $5 volunteer emergency
medical services worker;
also excludes earnings
received as a result of
participating in full-time
Trade Act training, up to an
amount equal to most recent
WBA
s WBA; earnings plus
MD Augmented WBA $50 MA WBA WBA may not equal or
exceed the individual’s
AWW
For each $1 earned, WBA
reduced by 40 cents
(benefits and earnings
cannot exceed 1 3/5
WEA: cings ove e e
3/5 WBA result in dollar- Sodation for ien oo and
for-dollar reduction in wages earned Jforysgr\yices
Mi 13/5x WBA WBA, if the resulting MN WBA 2 d in National
WBA is zero, weeks of performec in fvationa
benefits payable reduced Guard and military TESErve,
b and as a volunteer firefighter
y 1 week. (Excludes - )
or in ambulance services
wages for on-call or
training services as a
volunteer firefighter if
wages are < $10,000)
$20 or 1/5 WBA, whichever
is greater; excludes
termination pay, severance
MS WBA $40 MO WBA.+ $20 or 15 WBA, pay, and wages from service
whichever is greater - : -
in the organized militia for
training or authorized duty
from benefit computation
MT 2xWBA Y2 wages over ¥a WBA NE WBA Y4 WBA
NV WBA Ya wages NH WBA 3/10 WBA
NJ WBA + greater of $5 or 1/5 Greater of $5 or 1/5 WBA | NM WBA 1/5 WBA, _excludes_
WBA payments for jury service
Benefits paid at the rate of ¥2 WBA for each effective day
within a week beginning on Monday (effective day defined Week of less than 3 customary
AL as 4™ and each subsequent day of total unemployment in a e scheduled full-time days 2/10 WBA
week in which claimant earns not more than $300)
ND WBA 3/5 WBA OH WBA 1/5 WBA
¥s WBA; or 10 x state
minimum wage in the prior
year; excludes wages from
OK WBA + $100 $100 OR WBA service in the organized
militia for training or
authorized duty from benefit
computation
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TABLE 3-8: PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT AND EARNINGS DISREGARDED WHEN DETERMINING WEEKLY BENEFIT

Definition of Partial Earnings Disregarded in Definition of Partial Earnings Disregarded in
State Unemployment - Week of Computing Weekly State Unemployment - Week of Computing Weekly
Less Than Full-Time Work Benefit for Partial Less Than Full-Time Work if Benefit for Partial
if Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment Earnings are Less Than: Unemployment
1% x WBA; week in which
wages or remuneration from
o self-employment are less than
PA WBA + 2/5 WBA Greater\‘,’\gg or 30% PR | 1% times claimant’s WBA or WBA
the claimant performs no
service for a working period of
32 hours or more in a week
RIt Basic WBA 1/5 WBA SC WBA Y2 WBA
SD WBA Ya wages over $25 TN WBA Greater of $50 or ¥4 WBA
1
Tx | WBA* gr\‘j\"’/‘g;o‘: $50r% | Greater of $50r s WBA | UT WBA 3/10 WBA
WBA + $15 provided the
claimant works less than 35 Greater of $40 or 3/10
A hours (35 hours is considered WBA A WBA $50
full-time employment)
1% x WBA + $5; weekly hours
VI 1%5x WBA + 8§15 Yawages in excess of $15 | WA | of work temporarily reduced by Ys wages over $5
employer by no more than 60%
Any week the individual $30 plus 33% of wages in
receives any wages under $500 | excess of $30 (excludes
or performs services less than wages received as a
WV WBA + $61 $60 WI | 32 hours; no individual may be | volunteer firefighter or
eligible for partial benefits if voluntary medical
the benefit payment is < $5 technician from benefit
computation)
WY WBA % WBA

1 Special provision for totally unemployed individuals who have days of employment between the end of the waiting period and the beginning of
the first compensable week, and also for those who return to work prior to the end of a compensable week, provided they have been in receipt
of benefits for at least 2 successive weeks of total unemployment. For each day of unemployment in such week in which work is ordinarily
performed in the individual’s occupation, one-fifth of the weekly benefit is paid, up to four-fifths of the weekly rate.

DEPENDENTS’ ALLOWANCES

Although wages earned during the base period are the primary factor in determining the size of the
payment a claimant receives each week, some states’ laws provide for a dependents’ allowance above and
beyond the basic benefit amount payable. The definition of dependent, for Ul purposes, varies from state to
state, as does the allowance granted. In general, a dependent must be wholly or mainly supported by the
individual, or living with or receiving regular support from the individual.

DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT—AII states with dependents’ allowances include children under a specified
age. The intent is to include all children whom the individual is obligated to support. In most of these states,
allowances may be paid on behalf of older children who are unable to work because of physical or mental
disability. In some states, children are not the only dependents recognized, that is, spouses, parents, or siblings
may also be included in the definition. The following table outlines the states that have dependents” allowances
and their definition of a dependent.

TABLE 3-9: DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT

Dependent Child Nonworking Dependent .
Older Child Number of Maximum
State Under 18 Unless Otherwise Not Able to Spouse Parent Brother or Dependents Number of
Noted* Workl P Sister Fixed by BY | Dependents
Child must be unmarried; must
have received more than half the
cost of support from individual or 2
AK 1 be lawfully in the individual’s X 3
custody at the time the individual
claims the allowance?
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TABLE 3-9: DEFINITION OF DEPENDENT

Dependent Child

Nonworking Dependent

Older Child Number of Maximum
State Under 18 Unless Otherwise Not?{\ble Ito Spouse Parent Brother or Dependents Number of
Noted* Work: P Sister Fixed by BY | Dependents
CT | 21 if child is full-time student X3 X 5
Spouse must be
currently
ineligible for
IL X2 X? benefits in the 1
State because of
insufficient
BPW
No dependency
allowance paid
for any week in
1A X? X2 which spouse X X X 4
earns more than
$120 in gross
wages
No dependency
allowance paid
for any week in
which spouse is
ME X2 x23 employed full x*
time and is
contributing to
support of
dependents
MD x? x? X 5
Child must be unmarried and, by
MA?® | interpretation, 24 if child is full- X3 X x*
time student?
Must have received more than half
the cost of support from individual
MI | for at least 90 consecutive days or X3 X X5 X’ X 5
for the duration of the parental
relationship?
19; child must be unmarried; 22 if 2,3 4
NI | child is full-time student’ X X X 2
Child must also be unemancipated;
child may be in legal custody of
claimant pending adoption; court
NM - - . 2
requires claimant to contribute to
child’s support and no one else is
receiving benefits for that child
May not be
Must have received more than half gf'g]eddeﬁf if
the cost of support from individual P ki
OH | within 90 days prior to BYB (or X2 average weekly X 3
duration of parental relationship, if g(iigleolleg%
less than 90 days) . ,
of the claimant’s
AWW
PA X X X 2
RI X2 X? X 5

LIn all states except MA, includes stepchild by statute.

2 AK, IL, 1A, ME, MD, MI, NJ, OH, and RI - adopted child is included by statute; MA - adopted child is included by interpretation, and legal
guardians are included by statute.

3 Full-time student included in CT, ME, MA, MI, and NJ.

* The dependent allowance is capped at 50% of the individual’s WBA.

% Only dependents residing within the U.S. and its Territories and possessions.

® parents over 65 or permanently disabled from gainful employment.

" Brother or sister under 18, orphaned, or whose living parents are dependents.
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AMOUNT OF WEEKLY DEPENDENTS> ALLOWANCES—As with the definition of dependents, there is
much variation among states concerning the amount of weekly dependents’ allowance payable. However, there
are some commonalities. For example, the allowance is ordinarily a fixed sum. In addition, all states have a
limit on the total amount of dependents’ allowance payable in any week in terms of dollar amount, number of
dependents, percentage of basic benefits, of high-quarter wages, or of average weekly wage. This limitation
results in reductions, for some individuals, in the actual allowance per dependent or the maximum number of
dependents on whose behalf allowances may be paid. In almost all states the number of dependents is fixed for
the benefit year when the monetary determination on the claim is made. Likewise, in virtually all states, only
one parent may draw allowances if both are receiving benefits simultaneously. Individuals who are eligible for
partial benefits may draw dependents’ allowances in addition to their basic benefits in most of the states
providing for these allowances. They receive the full allowance for a week of partial unemployment.
Consequently, the allowance for dependents may be greater than the basic benefit for partial unemployment.
Alaska and Connecticut permit dependents’ allowances to be adjusted during the benefit year if an individual
acquires additional dependents.

TABLE 3-10: AMOUNT OF WEEKLY DEPENDENTS> ALLOWANCES

Weekly Weekly Maximum Maximum
State Allowance per Dependents’ Allowances Dependents’ Allowance for Dependents’ Allowance for
Dependent Capped at: Minimum Weekly Benefit Maximum Weekly Benefit
AK $24 $72 $72 $72
CT $15 Lesser of WBA or $75 $15 $75
it $26 - $158 $26 $158
1A $3-$13 Schedule $3 - $98 $13 $98
ME $10 Y% WBA $34 $198
same maximum WBA with or without
MD $8 $40 $40 dependents
MA $25 % WBA $18 $361
same maximum WBA with or without
M $6 $30 $30 dependents
NJ 7% of WBA for 1% dependent and 4% for each of the $15 same maximum WBA with or without
next 2 dependents dependents
NM $25 % WBA up to $50 $40 $50
Determined by schedule
OH $1 - $152 according to the AWW and $0 $152
dependency class
$5; $3 for one
i other dependent %8 %8 %8
RI $15 or 5% of WBA up to 5 dependents $75 $141

GENERAL NOTE: Full dependents’ allowance (DA) given for weeks of partial benefits in all states with the following exceptions: MD and
PA - Not more than 26 DA payments for dependents may be made in any one BY (individuals are partially unemployed if they earn less than
the unadjusted WBA).

L IL - the amount shown is dependent child allowance; individuals without a child who have a non-working spouse receive a different amount
(amounts are determined by applying the applicable dependent allowance rate (see state benefit chart)).

DURATION OF BENEFITS

When states compute an individual’s monetary eligibility for benefits, in addition to calculating the
weekly benefit amount, they determine the maximum benefit amount payable. Duration — how long benefits
may be collected — is determined by dividing the maximum benefit amount payable by the individual’s weekly
benefit amount. The maximum weeks of benefits available vary, but are most frequently 26 weeks. A few
states’ laws establish uniform durations of 26 weeks for all individuals who meet the qualifying wage
requirements, whereas the rest of the states have variable durations. Uniform duration states are not necessarily
“more generous” than the other states because many of these states have comparatively high minimum wage
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thresholds to qualify for all but the lowest benefit levels. Similarly, whether directly or indirectly, all uniform
duration states require employment in more than one quarter for all — or most — individuals to qualify for
benefits.

In variable duration states, duration is derived. First, the state determines the limit on total benefits
receivable in a benefit year (the maximum entitlement). In most of these states, an individual’s benefits are
limited to a fraction or percent of base-period wages if it produces an amount less than the specified multiple
(usually 26-30) of the individual’s weekly benefit amount. The rest of the variable duration states — states using
a weekly wage method — set maximum potential benefits as a fraction of weeks worked during the base period.
Once the state calculates the maximum entitlement, it divides that amount by the weekly benefit amount to
derive the duration. Some states’ laws specify both the minimum and maximum duration, in weeks, along with
the method of calculating benefit entitlement. Since in all of these states the maximum potential benefit may be
used for weeks of total or partial unemployment, individuals can collect benefits longer than their stated
duration, until they have exhausted their maximum entitlement.

Depending on the distribution of wages in the base period, individuals with the same total base-period
wages can have different durations and different weekly benefit amounts. For example, individuals whose
wages are concentrated largely or wholly in the high quarter will have a higher weekly benefit amount but a
shorter duration.

In most states with variable duration, individuals at all benefit levels are subject to the same minimum
and maximum weeks of duration.

A few states include a limitation on wage credits in computing duration. For example, in Colorado,
only wages up to 26 times the current maximum weekly amount per quarter count. This type of provision tends
to reduce weeks of benefits for individuals at the higher benefit levels.

This section deals only with the regular Ul program. Extensions are addressed in the following chapter.

The following table describes how each state calculates benefit entitlement and the wage credits
required to qualify for the maximum duration of the maximum weekly benefit for all states.

TABLE 3-11: MAXIMUM BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT

Maximum Potential Benefits
Formula for Calculating Benefit . .
Sz Entitlement Amounts? Wage Credits Required
High quarter Base period
AL | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $6,890 N/A $20,670
Ratio of annual wages to HQW—from less

AK than 1.5 t0 3.5 or more $9,620 - $11,492 N/A $42,000
AZ Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $6,240 $5,988 $18,720
AR Lesser of 25 x WBA or s BPW $9,020 NA $46,904
CA | Lesser of 26 x WBA or %2 BPW $11,700 >$11,674 $23,400

$13,052 $10,877 $39,156

(low formula) (low formula) (low formula)

CO | Lesser of 26 x WBA or 5 wage credits in BP

$14,352 Not applicable (high $57,408

(high formula) formula) (high formula)
CT N/A: Uniform duration state $15,548 - $17,498 . $15,548 $23,920
in each of 2 quarters

DE | Lesser of 26 x WBA or %2 BPW $8,580 N/A $17,160
DC | Lesser of 26 x WBA or 50% BPW $9,334 $9,334 $18,668
FL | 25% BPW up to $6325 $6,325 $7,150 $25,300
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TABLE 3-11: MAXIMUM BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT

Formula for Calculating Benefit

Maximum Potential Benefits

State Entitlement Amountst Wage Credits Required
High quarter Base period
GA | Lesser of 14 - 20 x WBA or ¥4 BPW $6,600 N/A $26,400
HI N/A: Uniform duration state $14,794 $11,929 $14,794
ID Ratio of BPW to HQW—from 1.25t0 3.5 $10,660 $10,660 $37,310
N/A: Uniform duration state $24.115
IL (Claimants are eligible for the lesser of 26 $11,362 - $15,470 N/A in 2 L,Jarters
weeks of benefits or their total BP wages) g
0,
IN Ic_ris;iet; of 26 x WBA or 28% of BP wage $10,140 N/A $43 149
Lesser of 26 x WBA or '3 BPW; If laid off
1A due to employer going out of business, % of $11,206 - $13,754 $9,913 $33,618
wages in BP up to 39 weeks
KS Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $12,324 $11,153 $36,972
KY | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $10,790 N/A $32,370
LA% | N/A: Uniform duration state $5,746 to $7,384 N/A $22,100 to $28,400
ME | Lesser of 26 x WBA or /s BPW $10,322 - $15,470 N/A $30,966
$11,180
MD | N/A: Uniform duration state same maximum >$10,296 $15,480
with or without DA
Lesser of 30 x WBA or 36% BPW (Reduced
MA | to 26 x WBA all of the local area $21,660 - $32,490 N/A $60,167
unemployment rate < 5.1%)
$7,240
MI 43% BPW same with or $8,830 $16,838
without DA
$11,024 $11,024 $33,072
(based on HQW) (based on HQW) (based on HQW)
MN Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW
$17,108 Not applicable (based $68,432
(based on BPW) on BPW) (based on BPW)
MS | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $6,110 $6,110 $18,330
MO | Lesser of 20 x WBA or s BPW $6,400 N/A $16,000
MT Ratio of BPW to HQ\{\/—from 1.0to3.50r $13.636 N/A $44.856
greater (see schedule in law)
NE | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $10,192 $10,192 $30,576
NV | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $10,842 $10,425 $32,526
NH N/A: Uniform duration state $11,102 N/A $41,500
$17,082
NJ Lesser o_f 26 x WBA or total number of weeks same with or N/A $28.470
worked in BP x WBA .
without DA
NM | Lesser of 26 x WBA or 60% BPW $10,998 - $12,298 $10,279 $18,330
NY N/A: Uniform duration state $10,920 $10,920 $16,380
NC | (BPW/HQW)x 8% x WBA $7,000 N/A $18,200
ND | Ratio of BPW to HQW—from 1.5 to 3.2 $16,458 N/A $87,776
Lesser of 26 x WBA or 20 x WBA+ WBA for $22 620
OH | each qualifying week in excess of 20 up to a $11,310 - $15,262 N/A . '
; in 26 weeks
maximum of 26 weeks
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TABLE 3-11: MAXIMUM BENEFIT ENTITLEMENT

Formula for Calculating Benefit

Maximum Potential Benefits

State Entitlement Amountst Wage Credits Required
High quarter Base period
Lesser of 26 x WBA or a variable percentage
OK | of the state’s AAW for the 2™ preceding year $10,900 $11,615 $26,260
depending upon the conditional factor in place
OR Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $14,274 N/A $43,920
An individual with at least 18 credit weeks is
PA | eligible for 26 weeks (A credit week isone in | $14,898 - $15,106 $14,263 $28,244
which claimant earned at least $116)
PR N/A: Uniform duration state $3,458 >$3,442 $5,320
RI Lesser of 26 x WBA or 33% BPW $14,716 - $18,382 N/A $44,594
SC Lesser of 20 x WBA or Y3 BPW $6,520 $8,476 $19,560
SD Lesser of 26 x WBA or 5 BPW $9,516 $9,516 $28,548
TN Lesser of 26 x WBA or ¥4 BPW $7,150 N/A $28,600
TX Lesser of 26 x WBA or 27% BPW $12,454 $11,963 $46,126
uT 27% BPW $13,234 $13,229 $49,015
VT Lesser of 26 x WBA or 46% BPW $11,596 N/A $25,209
VA | 26 x WBA (see table in law) $9,828 N/A >$37,800
VI Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $12,402 $12,402 $37,206
WA | Lesser of 26 x WBA or s BPW $17,264 N/A $51,792
WV | N/A: Uniform duration state $11,024 N/A $40,150
WI Lesser of 26 x WBA or 40% BPW $9,620 $9,250 $24,050
WY | Lesser of 26 x WBA or 30% BPW $12,766 $12,275 $42,554

GENERAL NOTE: Since the high quarter and base period wage requirements for the minimum duration of the minimum weekly
benefit amount are the same as the wage and employment requirements to qualify for benefits, they are not repeated in this table. (See
Table 3-3.) Some states will extend duration under certain circumstances; see chapter 4 for additional information. Additionally, in
states where the benefit entitlement is calculated using multi-quarter, annual wage, or weekly wage formulas the high quarter cell is
shown as N/A as no specific level of wages is required to exist in the high quarter pursuant to state law.

! When 2 amounts are given, higher amount includes dependents’ allowance.
2 Depending on the procedure in place in a given year, different benefit multipliers are utilized. As a result, the maximum potential
benefit payable varies from year to year and, similarly, the amount of BPWs necessary to receive the maximum potential benefit
payable fluctuates.

The following table displays the duration of benefits available in each state. Additionally, the table

indicates whether the state has a uniform duration formula or a variable duration formula.

TABLE 3-12: DURATION OF BENEFITS

Variable Duration
State Uniform Weeks Based on Weeks based on BPW and
Base-Period Wages (BPW) Unemployment Rate
Minimum Maximum Minimum Maximum
AL 15 26
AK 16 26
AZ 13 26
AR 9 20
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TABLE 3-12: DURATION OF BENEFITS

Variable Duration

Weeks Based on

Weeks based on BPW and

SiEis Ui Base-Period Wages (BPW) Unemployment Rate
Minimum Maximum Minimum Maximum

CA 14 26

Cco 13 26

CT 26

DE 24 26

DC 19 26

FL 9 12-23
GA 6 14-20
HI 26

ID 10 26

IL 26

IN 8 26

1A 7 26

KS 10 16-26
KY 15 26

LA 26

ME 15 26

MD 26

MA 10 30

Mi 14 20

MN 11 26

MS 13 26

MO 13-20°

MT 8 28°

NE 1 26

NV 12 26

NH 26

NJ 1 26

NM 14 26

NY 26

NC 12-20

ND 12 26

OH 20 26

OK 16 26

OR 3 26
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TABLE 3-12: DURATION OF BENEFITS
Variable Duration
State Uniform Weeks Based on Weeks based on BPW and
Base-Period Wages (BPW) Unemployment Rate
Minimum Maximum Minimum Maximum
PA 18 26
PR 26
RI 17 26
SC 13 20
SD 15 26
TN 13 26
X 10 26
uT 10 26
VT 21 26
VA 12 26
VI 13 26
WA 1 26
wv 26
wi 14 26*
wYy 11 26
! Maximum number of weeks is capped at 26 during periods of low unemployment.
2 Number of weeks paid in a given year is dependent upon the state’s unemployment rate.
% To qualify for 28 weeks, individual’s ratio of total base-period wages to HQ wages must be at least 3.5.
*With some limited exceptions, individuals with significant ownership interest in family partnerships, LLCs, and corporations, and
certain members of their families, are limited to 4 weeks of regular Ul benefits.

SEASONAL EMPLOYMENT AND BENEFITS
Special provisions are found in several states’ laws restricting the payment of benefits to individuals
who earned some or a substantial part of their base-period wages for employers whose operations take place
only during certain seasons of the year.

In these provisions, the term seasonal is defined either in the statute or in the rules or regulations
implementing the statute in terms of the:

« industry, employer, or occupation involved,;
« wages earned during the operating period of the employer or industry; and
« individual.
In most states, the designation of seasonal industries, occupations, or employers and the beginning and
ending dates of their seasons is made in accordance with a formal procedure, following action initiated by the Ul
agency or upon application by the employers or individuals involving hearings and presentation of supporting

data. Arkansas law provides that any employer classified as a seasonal employer may request not to be treated
as a seasonal employer.
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In other states, a seasonal pursuit, industry, or employer is defined as one in which, because of climatic
conditions or the seasonal nature of the employment, it is customary to operate only during a regularly recurring
period or periods of less than a specified number of weeks: 16 weeks in Massachusetts; 26 weeks in Colorado,
Indiana, and Michigan; 26 weeks in Maine (except for seasonal lodging facilities, variety stores, or trading
posts, restaurants, and camps, where a period of less than 26 weeks applies); 36 weeks in North Carolina; and 40
weeks in Ohio.

In general, restrictions on the payment of benefits to individuals employed during the operating periods
of these seasonal industries fall into one of two groups.

The most frequent restriction provides that wage credits earned in seasonal employment are available
for payment of benefits only for weeks of unemployment in the benefit year that fall within the operating period
of the employer or industry where they were earned. Wage credits earned in non-seasonal work or in
employment with a seasonal employer outside the operating period are available for payment of benefits at any
time in the benefit year. The states with this type of provision are listed in the following table, together with the
definitions of “seasonal worker” to whom the restrictions apply.

TABLE 3-13: SEASONAL WAGE CREDITS AVAILABLE ONLY DURING SEASON

Off-season wages of (a) less than 30 times the
weekly benefit amount, if individual’s seasonal
wages were earned in an industry with an

For employment in transient lodging only;
no benefits based on seasonal wages

Some seasonal wages

AR operating period of 2-6 mqnths; or (b_) less than AZ during the off-season if unemployment is CO |in operating period of
24 times the weekly benefit amount, if seasonal due to substantial slowdown in operations seasonal industry
wages were earned in an industry with an P
operating period of 7-8 months
Some seasonal wages in operating period of Some seasonal wages in operating period _Some sea}sonal Wages
IN ME MA | in operating period of
seasonal employer of seasonal employer -
seasonal industry
Off-season wages of (a) less than 30 times
the weekly benefit amount, if individual’s
seasonal wages were earned in a cotton
S : 0 i
Wages must be within seasonal period of 26 ginning |ndust_ry or pr_ofessmnal baseba!l 25 % or more of base_
s . with an operating period of 6-26 weeks; or period wages earned in
MI | weeks or less; designation of employment as MS : . NC - .
. (b) less than 24 times the weekly benefit operating period of
seasonal is voluntary - h
amount, if seasonal wages were earned in a seasonal employer
cotton ginning industry or professional
baseball with an operating period of 27-36
weeks
Seasonal wages for less than 180 days of .
. . . ; . - - Some wages earned in
Some seasonal wages earned in operating work in operating period; applies only if . :
OH . PA SD | operating period of
period of seasonal employer reasonable assurance of reemployment
. seasonal employer
exists
™ Wages must be within seasonal period of 36
weeks or less
Other states have established differing seasonal provisions, which are listed in the following table.
TABLE 3-14: OTHER SEASONAL PROVISIONS
DE Individual with 75% or more of base-period earnings in seasonal employment — defined as the processing of agricultural or seafood
products — will be eligible only if the individual had been employed in the corresponding month of the base period
WV Individual working less than 100 days in seasonal employment is not eligible unless the individual has non-seasonal employment
earnings of at least $100
Wi Individual working less than 90 days for a seasonal employer is not eligible unless the individual is paid wages of $500 or more by at

least one other employer
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DEDUCTIONS AND WITHHOLDING FROM BENEFITS

Under Federal law, benefits must be paid to an individual as a matter of right and may not be intercepted
to satisfy debts or other obligations. However, Federal law provides some exceptions to this requirement
discussed in the following text.

OVERPAYMENTS—AII states reduce benefits otherwise payable to recover earlier Ul overpayments. See
Chapter 6 for more information on this topic.

CHILD SUPPORT—Federal law requires states to deduct child support obligations from benefits only when
the obligations are enforced by the state child support agency.

OVERISSUANCES OF FOOD STAMPS—If the individual owes an uncollected overissuance of food
stamps, a state’s Ul agency may deduct such amount from benefits payable. The following table indicates
which state laws provide for these deductions. However, not all of these states necessarily make these
deductions; it depends on whether the state Ul and food stamp agencies have entered into agreements.

TABLE 3-15: STATES WITH AUTHORITY TO DEDUCT FOOD STAMP OVERISSUANCES

Alabama Arizona Arkansas Colorado Delaware
Georgia Hawaii Hlinois lowa Kansas
Louisiana Maine Massachusetts Missouri Montana
Nebraska New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York
Oklahoma South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah

Vermont Virgin Islands Virginia Wyoming

INCOME TAX—Federal law requires states to offer individuals the opportunity to voluntarily have Federal
income tax withheld from benefits at the rate of 10 percent. Federal law also permits states to withhold state and
local income tax from benefits. The following table indicates which states offer individuals the opportunity to
have state (and/or local) income taxes withheld.

TABLE 3-16: WITHHOLDING STATE AND LOCAL INCOME TAX AT CLAIMANT OPTION

State | State | Local | State | State | Local | State | State | Local | State | State | Local | State | State | Local
AZ X (6{0] X CT X X DE X DC X X
GA X HI X Xt ID X 1L X 1A X
KS X X KY X ME X X MD X MA X
Mi X2 MN X MS X X NE X NH X X
NM X X NY X X NC X ND X OK X2
OR X RI X SC X TN X uT X
VT X \AY/ X WI X

GENERAL NOTE: AK, FL, NV, NH, SD, TX, TN, WA, and WY have no state income tax.

! Local income taxes deducted and withheld from the individual’s Ul for other states and localities.
2 |f Federal taxes are elected to be withheld from benefits, then state taxes will be withheld as well.

HEALTHCARE COVERAGE—Illinois and Oklahoma authorize the deduction of health insurance premiums
from the Ul weekly benefit amount if the individual so elects, provided that the state has an approved health care
plan for unemployed individuals. However, neither state has implemented this authority. Massachusetts has a
health insurance program for unemployed individuals; however, it is unrelated to the Ul program.
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